Bookmark and Share

MCC v Rest of the World matches

MCC v Rest of the World matches

In the summer of 2014 MCC will invite the finest men’s and women’s cricketers from across the globe to help celebrate the Bicentenary of the current Lord's Ground in the most fitting style possible – two MCC v Rest of the World matches.

In the men's game, on Saturday 5 July, MCC will be captained by India legend Sachin Tendulkar, while Rest of the World will be skippered by Shane Warne.

The women’s match is particularly momentous, given it is both the first MCC Women’s match to be staged on the Main Ground, and the first time a women’s Rest of the World side has ever played. The match will take place on Monday 19 May.

The MCC women's team will be led by England captain Charlotte Edwards, who will play alongside the first female Wisden Cricketer of the Year Claire Taylor, with the Rest of the World side including India's Mithali Raj and Australia's Ellyse Perry.

Both matches will be 50-over contests.

Lord’s has staged MCC v Rest of the World matches before – indeed for the Club’s Bicentenary in 1987 the current MCC President Mike Gatting captained the Club and hit a brilliant century against an attack featuring Imran Khan, Kapil Dev and Courtney Walsh.

Gatting will manage the MCC XI for the men's match, while the Rest of the World XI will be managed by ex-South Africa all-rounder and MCC World Cricket committee member Shaun Pollock.



Numerous players have been announced for the men's match, with the confirmed list so far being:

Name Country Team
Sachin Tendulkar India MCC (captain)
Shane Warne Australia Rest of the World (captain)
Rahul Dravid India MCC
Adam Gilchrist Australia Rest of the World
Paul Collingwood England MCC
Kevin Pietersen England Rest of the World
Brett Lee Australia MCC
Muttiah Muralitheran Sri Lanka Rest of the World
Shivnarine Chanderpaul West Indies TBC
Yuvraj Singh India TBC
Daniel Vettori New Zealand TBC
Virender Sehwag India TBC
Shaun Tait Australia TBC
Shahid Afridi Pakistan TBC
Tamim Iqbal Bangladesh TBC
Saeed Ajmal Pakistan TBC
*The final composition of the teams will be confirmed when all players are announced, in order to fairly balance the make-up of the sides.


MCC   Rest of the World
Charlotte Edwards (capt) England Suzie Bates New Zealand
Heather Knight England Deandra Dottin West Indies
Claire Taylor England Jhulan Goswami India
Sarah Taylor England Marizanne Kapp South Africa
Arran Brindle England Meg Lanning Australia
Natalie Sciver England Sana Mir Pakistan
Jenny Gunn England Ellyse Perry Australia
Holly Colvin England Rachel Priest New Zealand
Isa Guha England Mithali Raj India
Kate Cross England Shashikala Siriwardene Sri Lanka
Danielle Hazell England Stafanie Taylor West Indies
Paul Shaw (Coach) Lisa Keightley (Coach)
Baroness Heyhoe-Flint (Manager) Caroline Atkins (Manager)



Tickets for the Men's MCC v Rest of the World match are sold out, though hospitality options still remain.

Tickets for the Women's match are available to buy online now.

Buy now

Share this page

Back to Top