Bookmark and Share

Law 23 in Action

Interpretation of ball becomes dead on the dismissal of a batsman

Question:

The Laws now clearly distinguish between a batsman being out and his being dismissed. Does that mean that if, for instance, there is a run out, the ball remains in play between the breaking of the wicket and the umpire giving his decision?

Answer:

No. It is true that the ball does not become dead merely because there is an appeal, nor even if a batsman is out but he is not dismissed. The ball automatically becomes dead when a batsman is dismissed. If, however, an appeal is upheld, then the ball is to be regarded as having been dead from the moment of the incident which caused his dismissal. In the example quoted, the ball would be regarded as dead from the breaking of the wicket. As another example:

The ball hits the striker on the pad and there is an appeal. The batsmen run.

If the umpire gives the striker not out, then the ball has remained in play throughout and if the run is completed it will count.

If the umpire gives the striker out LBW, then the ball is to be regarded as dead from the moment it struck the pad. The run is not valid and the not out batsman will return to his original end.

[Law reference: 23.1 (a) (iii)]


Share this page

Further Reading


Back to Top
Google+