Bookmark and Share

Law 7 in Action

Changing the pitch

Question:

The umpires decide that the condition of the pitch makes it dangerous for play to continue. Another pitch is available and the captains agree to play on that. In these circumstances is play resumed or does the match start again?

Answer:

The wording in Law 7.4 ‘changed during the match’ implies that the match will continue on the new pitch, just as any other resumption of play after an interruption. There is nothing in Law, however, to prevent the original match being abandoned, by agreement, and a new one started on the other pitch. It could not, however, be regarded in any way as the same match, unless Local Regulations provide otherwise.

[Law reference: 7.4]


Share this page

Further Reading


Back to Top
Google+