3:53 AM

Bookmark and Share

Rahul Dravid

Player: India (1995-2012)

The third Indian after Sunil Gavaskar and Sachin Tendulkar to score over 10,000 Test runs, Rahul Dravid was the backbone of his country’s batting line up for over a decade.

Dravid made his Test debut in 1996, scoring 95 in his first innings against England. From 2000 he has been a prolific scorer, with a golden streak beginning in 2001 with his 180 to support VVS Laxman’s brilliant 281 to win India the Kolkata Test against Australia after following on. He scored four double centuries in just 15 Tests between 2002 and 2004, has been involved in more century partnerships in Test history than anyone else, and is one of the few Indian players to average more away from his home batting and spin-friendly pitches.

In ODIs, Dravid was the top run scorer at the 1999 World Cup and is the only man to be involved in two partnerships in excess of 300. His 331-run partnership with Sachin Tendulkar against New Zealand in November 1999 is the current world record partnership in ODIs.

Dravid was the backbone of his country’s batting line up

In late 2005 Dravid was appointed captain of India’s Test and one day sides winning his first series in charge against Sri Lanka. Under his leadership the Test team won their first Test against South Africa as well as securing two away wins against West Indies and England, after which Dravid stepped down. He was the only founding member of the MCC World Cricket Committee still playing, and appears for the Bangalore Royal Challengers in the Indian Premier League.

In 2009 he broke Mark Waugh’s world record for most catches by a fielder in Test matches.

He returned triumphantly to Lord's in 2011 and put right his debut 95 with a century in his final Test at the Home of Cricket. Dravid retired from all international cricket in 2012, but has represented MCC regularly in his later career, playing in the 2011 Champion County victory against Nottinghamshire in Abu Dhabi and in the Club's t20 side for the 2012 & 2013 Emirates Airline t20 competition.

Share this page

Back to Top