Bookmark and Share

Amla's unlucky ricochet Published: 24 March 2014

Hashim Amla walks off after being dismissed in South Africa's ICC World T20 Super 10 match against New Zealand
Hashim Amla walks off after being dismissed in South Africa's ICC World T20 Super 10 match against New Zealand

An unusual incident took place during South Africa’s ICC World T20 Super 10 match against New Zealand in Chittagong on Monday 24 March.

Hashim Amla was batting for South Africa with the score on 97/3, when he struck Corey Anderson powerfully straight down the ground.

The ball, which was hit powerfully on the up, flew straight at the non-striker, JP Duminy, who was forced to take evasive action. However, he was unable to get his bat out of the way quickly enough, and the ball looped up to be caught by Anderson.

The relevant Law - Law 32.3.d (Caught), declares that a catch will be fair if: "a fielder catches the ball after it has touched an umpire, another fielder or the other batsman."

This therefore meant that once Anderson had caught the ball, despite it striking Duminy’s bat and the unfortunate, Amla was out.

Amla departed for 41, with Duminy going on to make an astonishing 86 not out from just 43 balls, in South Africa’s total of 170/6.

And in a thrilling climax, Dale Steyn was able to hold his nerve in a captivating final over as South Africa eventually won by 2 runs.

Law 32: Boundary catching


Share this page

Back to Top
Google+