Bookmark and Share

Buttler and the 'Mankad' run out Published: 04 June 2014

Jos Buttler and Sachithra Senanayake at the flashpoint during the ODI
Jos Buttler and Sachithra Senanayake at the flashpoint during the ODI

Jos Buttler's run out during England's final ODI with Sri Lanka at Edgbaston caused controversy as the famous 'Mankad' dismissal was brought back into the cricketing spotlight.

Buttler was given run out after Sri Lanka bowler Sachithra Senanayake removed the bails at the non-striker's end with Buttler out of his ground.

Umpire Michael Gough gave Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews the chance to withdraw the appeal, but Mathews was happy with Senanayake - who had already given Buttler a warning - and upheld the appeal.

It's a mode of dismissal that causes fierce debate, and has even been given its own special name, a 'Mankad', after a famous incident in which India's Vinoo Mankad ran out Australia's Bill Brown in such a manner during the second Test of India's 1947/8 tour to Australia.

Law 42.15 (Bowler attempting to run out the non-striker before delivery)

But what does Law 42.15 (Bowler attempting to run out non-striker before delivery) say and did Buttler have reason to feel hard done-by?

Law 42.15 states: "The bowler is permitted, before entering his delivery stride, to attempt to run out the non-striker. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one of the over.

"If the bowler fails in an attempt to run out the non-striker, the umpire shall call and signal Dead ball as soon as possible."

There is nothing in the Law which states the bowler must warn the batsman first. So Senanayake, it could be argued, was being generous to Buttler by giving him a warning..

MCC though would always encourage players to give a batsman a warning before any instance of removing the bails.

The other issue that has caused controversy is whether or not Senanyake was already in his delivery stride when he flicked off the bails and ran Buttler out.

According to the Laws, as stated above, the bowler must attempt the run out before entering his delivery stride. The Law thereby allowing for umpires, with no access to technology, to monitor the entering of the delivery stride, before turning their attentions to front foot no balls and concentrate on the delivery.

However, for international matches, there is an ICC playing regulation that states: "The bowler is permitted, before releasing the ball and provided he has not completed his usual delivery swing, to attempt to run out the non-striker."

So, Senanayake was well within his right to appeal for Buttler's wicket as he had not breached the ICC playing regulation.

If Buttler, following the warning, had stayed within his ground until the ball was released, the problem would have been avoided.

The Laws of Cricket | Running out the Non-striker


Share this page

Back to Top
Google+