Australia's Ed Cowan suffered the ignominy of being dismissed twice in one ball by South Africa's Jacques Kallis - but how do the Laws decide what goes in the scorebook?
Cowan was trapped LBW by a fine inswinger from South Africa's veteran all-rounder. To the naked eye the decision was an easy one for the standing umpire, Billy Bowden, and South Africa appeared to have successfully appealed for the LBW.
Subsequent ball tracking replays confirmed that Cowan was pinned plumb in front.
But the replays also revealed that the ball had cannoned off Cowan's foot, onto the face of his bat and looped straight back to the bowler, who pouched the ball prior to launching into his appeal.
Law 32.2 (Caught) states that:
Caught to take precedence
If... the striker is not out Bowled, then he is out Caught, even though a decision against either batsman for another method of dismissal would be justified.
There are two instances in the Laws where one dismissal takes precedence over the other.
As is alluded to in Law 32.2, Law 30 (Bowled) states:
Bowled to take precedence
The striker is out Bowled if his wicket is put down as in 1 above, even though a decision against him for any other method of dismissal would be justified.
Of course, none of this will come as any consolation to the unfortunate Cowan, who at least will only have one Out to damage his batting average...
KEEPING LORD'S WORLD CLASS
Founded in 1787, Marylebone Cricket Club is the most active and famous cricket club in the world and owner of Lord's Cricket Ground - the Home of Cricket.
© Copyright 2015
Switchboard: 020 7616 8500 Ticket Office: 020 7432 1000