Bookmark and Share

Anderson named player of the year

James Anderson has been named England's player of the year at the ECB's annual awards ceremony in the Long Room at Lord's.

Anderson's win is reward for a season when he spearheaded an England attack which established itself as a truly world class unit in all conditions, troubling batsmen in England, the UAE and Sri Lanka.

And the Lancashire bowler, who stands at 5th on England's all-time Test wicket taking list, viewed his award as the culmination of two years of consistent success in England colours, including defending the Ashes in Australia.

"I’d say I’ve been at the peak of my powers over the last two years and I’ve shown what I can actually do at this level," said the 29-year-old.

"It had been a pretty frustrating eight years before that, but the last two years I’ve been pretty pleased with and the challenge now is to keep improving."

Anderson - stats

 Best bowling

Tests since Arp 2010
 Best bowling

Nowhere has Anderson's improvement been more evident than away from home, where English fast bowlers have often struggled in the past.

The right-armer noted his improved control over line-and-length, as well as developing different modes of delivery such as the ability to reverses-swing the ball, had helped him become a quality performer in all conditions.

"I’ve added different skills to my game," Anderson added.

"I’ve always been able to swing the ball but I’ve added different skills throughout my career and I think being able to bowl in all conditions has been a problem for not just me but a lot of English bowlers over the years when we’ve gone away to unfamiliar conditions.

"But now all of us in this bowling group have good skills to take away with us."

Tests away from home before/after Apr 2010
 Best bowling
Pre-Arp '12
Post-Apr '12

Charlotte Edwards was named Women's Cricketer of the Year, after a fantastic 2011/12 in which she averaged more than 50 with the bat and led England to a clean sweep of international series victories.

Other winners were Daniel Bell-Drummond, who won the England Development Programme Cricketer of the Year, and Callum Rigby, who won the England Disability Cricketer of the Year.

Share this page

Back to Top