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M C C  C L A R I F I E S  L AW  O N  N O N - S T R I K E R S 
L E AV I N G  T H E I R  G R O U N D  E A R LY

During a Big Bash game earlier this month, there was 
an incident in which bowler Adam Zampa attempted 
to Run out the non-striker, Tom Rogers, who was given 
not out by the umpires.

MCC released a statement on this incident, clarifying its 
interpretation of this Law, which has been consistent for 
some time. The umpires were correct in their decision. 

However, we acknowledge that while this Law has 
generally been understood well by players and umpires, 
there is ambiguity in the wording which could lead to 
confusion. MCC has therefore moved to change the 
wording of Law 38.3 to deliver better clarity.  The current 
wording led some to think that if the non-striker left his/
her ground before the expected moment of release, 
then the Run out could happen at any moment, even 

after the bowler had gone through the bowling action. 
That was never the intention of this Law, nor the way 
it was ever interpreted by MCC.

It is important to note that this does not change 
the way the Law should be interpreted – it has been 
interpreted that way for the past 6 years, without much 
misunderstanding. However, the intention is that this 
will make things clearer.

The new Law reads:
        38.3.1 At any time from the moment the ball comes 

into play until the instant when the bowler would 
normally have been expected to release the ball, the 
non-striker is liable to be Run out if he/she is out of 
his/her ground. In these circumstances the non-
striker will be out Run out if he/she is out of his/
her ground when his/her wicket is put down by the 
bowler throwing the ball at the stumps or by the 
bowler’s hand holding the ball, whether or not the 
ball is subsequently delivered.

  38.3.1.1 The instant when the bowler would 
normally have been expected to release the 
ball is defined as the moment the bowler’s arm 
reaches the highest point of his/her normal 
bowling action in the delivery swing.

  38.3.1.2 Even if the non-striker had left his/her 
ground before the instant at which the bowler 
would normally have been expected to release 
the ball, once the bowler has reached that point 
it is no longer possible for the bowler to run out 
the non-striker under this Law.

Laws 38.3.2 and 38.3.3 remain unchanged.

This becomes Law immediately, and is in effect from 
January 19th 2023. Because this is not a material 
change to the meaning of the Law, MCC will not be 
re-printing Law books, but the change has already been 
reflected in all online materials.

The following document addresses the most frequently 
asked questions about this Law, and MCC’s stance on 
the running out of non-strikers. 
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Following a number of high-profile incidents, MCC calls 
for a re-education of non-strikers in the art of backing-up 
at the bowler’s end. The dismissal of a non-striker in this 
manner is within the Laws of Cricket but often leaves 
many saying that it is not within the Spirit of Cricket.
 
There is one very simple way that almost all confusion 
and controversy around this form of dismissal can 
be eradicated: by non-strikers remaining within their 
ground until they have seen the ball being released from 
the bowler’s hand. It is impossible for a non-striker to 
be run out if he or she does this. As the picture of New 
Zealand’s Kane Williamson (above) shows, he is able to 
get about a yard in front of the popping crease to help 

F R E Q U E N T LY  A S K E D  Q U E S T I O N S

shorten any run that he takes, yet he is still lawfully in 
his ground and is carefully watching for the moment 
of release. Players and coaches would be best advised 
to hone a similar technique. 
 
The habit of ‘backing-up’ can be a subconscious, 
ritualistic one, with a player wandering towards the 
striker’s end with only a vague awareness of the bowler’s 
movements. When ‘backing-up’ is a more focused and 
deliberate act, the non-striker only leaves the sanctity 
of the popping crease once the ball has been released, 
or having accepted the risk of being Run out. If all 
non-strikers deployed this very simple technique, 
there would never be another such dismissal again.
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M C C  W I S H E S  TO  A N S W E R  S O M E  F R E Q U E N T LY  A S K E D 
Q U E S T I O N S  S U R R O U N D I N G  T H I S  L AW.

 
  Should the bowler give the non-striker a warning?

 
A warning for this type of dismissal has never 
been required under the Laws of Cricket. In some 
countries, there has been a convention to offer a 
warning but this is by no means universal, even within 
those countries. A warning may be welcomed and 
the captain of the fielding side also has the right 
to withdraw an appeal if he/she does not want the 
dismissal to stand.
 

   Are there other ways for the Laws to deal with 
this problem, with a less punishing outcome?
 
MCC believes that it has explored every conceivable 
way of finding an alternative solution to this situation, 
but none is practicable and enforceable by two 
standing umpires without recourse to technology. 
The Club got as far as considering a draft for a Law 
during the formation of the 2017 Code – this would 
have involved the calling of “short run” if the non-
striker left his/her ground early. While consulting with 
umpires, however, the overwhelming feedback was 
that it would be impossible for them accurately to 
adjudicate on this while also concentrating on the 
landing of the bowler’s feet. It was felt it could also 
lead to the undesirable situation of fielders hounding 
the umpires for not noticing an early departure from 
the crease. Yes, the umpire needs to know where the 

non-striker is to adjudicate on a run out attempt by 
the bowler, but there will be a split-second when the 
umpire can see what is starting to happen, so he/she 
can alter their focus accordingly. For the vast majority 
of deliveries, however, the umpire’s attention will and 
should be on the bowler’s positioning.  In televised 
professional games, the option exists for a playing 
regulation to be written allowing the TV Umpire to 
check if the non-striker had left early, disallowing any 
runs if so, but such a rule could not be put into the 
Laws of Cricket, which cater for the vast majority of 
matches which do not have recourse to technology. 
 
Some people have called for umpires to make a 
subjective decision on whether the non-striker was 
trying to gain an advantage or had just wandered 
out of their ground absent-mindedly. That is highly 
undesirable and would place umpires in the very 
difficult position of judging both intent and how far 
out a non-striker could reasonably stray out of their 
ground before being at risk of dismissal.
 
Others have suggested that a warning should be 
made mandatory under the Laws. This idea was 
dismissed as it would effectively legitimise the non-
striker getting a head-start until a warning has been 
given. MCC believes that the presence of this method 
of dismissal within the Laws is suitable warning. A 
striker who leaves his/her ground when the wicket-
keeper is standing up to the stumps accepts the risk 
of being out Stumped, with no warning expected. 
MCC feels it is no different at the non-striker’s end.
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   Why not have a clearer point after which the 
non-striker is safe to leave their ground?
 
From 2000 to 2017, non-strikers could safely leave 
their ground once the bowler entered the delivery 
stride, which was defined as the landing of the back 
foot. Once TV replays started to be used to monitor 
No balls, it became apparent how much ground non-
strikers were lawfully making before the release of the 
ball – it was clearly too much. Consequently, the Law 
was changed in 2017, ensuring that the non-strikers 
remained in their ground until the instant at which the 
bowler would be expected to deliver the ball.  

This is defined as when the bowling arm reaches its 
highest point. MCC did not want bowlers holding onto 
the ball after completing the delivery swing and then 
attempting the run out, so the expected moment of 
release was felt to be the most appropriate moment. 
Once the bowler’s arm has reached its highest point 
in the delivery swing, it is too late to attempt a run 
out. However, if the bowler has not released the ball, 
and has not completed their delivery swing, the non-
striker is liable to be Run out, regardless of where the 
bowler’s feet may have landed. It is therefore worth 
stressing, again, that the best way to protect their 
wicket is for the non-striker to watch the ball until it 
is released. 

These matters have now been clarified in a change to 
the wording of this Law in January 2023. That change 
did not alter MCC’s interpretation of the Law, but has 
made it somewhat clearer.

  What Law is this covered by?
 
Until 30 September 2022, it was Law 41.16 (Non-striker 
leaving his/her ground early). 
 
From 1 October 2022, this form of dismissal moved 
from Law 41 (Unfair Play) to Law 38 (Run out). The 
non-striker is run out in this process and, although 
it is unfair play by the non-striker in leaving his/her 
ground early, the Run out Law is a more natural home 
for the dismissal. In 2017, the title of the Law was 
changed from “Bowler attempting to run out the non-
striker” to the current title of “Non-striker leaving his/
her ground early” to help to emphasise the fact that 
it is the non-striker who is at fault.

  Is this dismissal against the Spirit of Cricket?
 
Cricket is a broad church and the spirit in which it is 
played is no different. As custodian of the Spirit of 
Cricket, MCC appreciates its application is interpreted 
differently across the globe, and indeed differently 
within each country. Respectful debate is healthy and 
should continue. Where one person sees the bowler 
as breaching the Spirit in this form of dismissal, 
another will point at the non-striker gaining an unfair 
advantage by leaving their ground early. The incident 
in the photo above caused much debate when it 
happened in the IPL in 2021, as the bowler was 
penalised for a No ball where he was marginally over 
the line, while the non-striker went unpunished having 
stolen at least a yard. Is such ‘backing-up’ within the 
Spirit of Cricket?
 
The Laws permit this type of dismissal. Whilst it would 
be within the Spirit of Cricket to offer the non-striker a 
warning, it is not against the Spirit of Cricket to effect 
such a Run out, within the permitted time-frame, 
without giving a warning.
 

   Why is this form of dismissal referred to as a 
“Mankad”?
 
The Indian all-rounder Vinoo Mankad twice dismissed 
Australian Bill Brown in this fashion in 1947, having 
previously warned him for backing-up too early. Mr 
Mankad’s name has unfortunately been associated 
with the dismissal ever since. When asked later about 
the incident, Sir Donald Bradman stated that he 
could not understand why Mr Mankad was tainted 
by the incident, adding that the dismissal should be 
known as “being Browned”, as it was Brown who was 
at fault. MCC no longer uses Mr Mankad’s name in 
association with this type of dismissal, which has been 
well received by his family. Whilst it may take a while 
for everyone to refrain from using Mr Mankad’s name, 
MCC calls on media organisations to update their 
terminology.
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