Bookmark and Share

Hales gets second England chance

Former MCC Young Cricketer Alex Hales has been named in the England Twenty20 squad to play the West Indies, to be captained by Graeme Swann.

Swann will skipper England for the first time – the fifth player to lead the side in international cricket this summer after injuries to T20 captain Stuart Broad and vice-captain Eoin Morgan.

James Anderson also returns to the T20 side having been out of the set-up for the shortest format since November 2009.

Swann’s Nottinghamshire teammate Hales made his England debut against India last month but could only make a two ball duck.

He has a chance to make amends at the Oval though, against a West Indies side which is weakened by the participation of many of their star players in the Champions League Twenty20.

Young chance

Reigning World T20 champions England have once again chosen the format to bring through some of their younger players, with two uncapped cricketers in the squad.

Yorkshire wicket-keeper batsman Jonathan Bairstow, 21, and Hampshire left-arm spinner Danny Briggs, 20, are both in line for their international debuts.

Somerset’s Jos Buttler and Durham’s Scott Borthwick have another chance to impress the England selectors after making their debut in the One Day International against Ireland in Dublin.

Swann is the only player in the squad over the age of 30 with eight of the 14-man squad aged 22 or under.

Despite the squad only containing three men who played in the T20 World Cup final in 2010, National Selector Geoff Miller was pleased with the makeup of the team.

“We have selected ten of the players who were involved in last month's Twenty20 victory over India while the injuries to Broad and Morgan and the continued period of rest for Kevin Pietersen means we bring four players into the squad; Anderson, Bairstow, Borthwick and Briggs.

“Swann is a highly respected member of the England side and his experience and leadership qualities will be invaluable when he leads a young England team next week- a role he is very much looking forward to.”

England T20 squad
Name County
Graeme Swann (Captain)
James Anderson
Johnny Bairstow
Ravi Bopara
Scott Borthwick
Tim Bresnan
Danny Briggs
Jo Buttler
Jade Dernbach
Steven Finn
Alex Hales
Craig Kieswetter
Samit Patel
Ben Stokes


Share this page

Back to Top