Bookmark and Share

IPL continues in the Spirit of Cricket

MCC has once again struck a partnership with the Indian Premier League to ensure the tournament is played in the Spirit of Cricket.

IPL 5 was launched in Chennai on Tuesday 3 April, ahead of the opening match in the same city between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians.

As in each of the previous seasons of the IPL, the captains of each of the nine franchises signed up to the MCC Spirit of Cricket Charter at the star studded launch event, which featured music from American star Katy Perry.

MCC’s animated Spirit of Cricket video is played during every game while Spirit of Cricket perimeter advertising is prominent at each ground:


The IPL has proved a massive hit across the world since its debut season. The 2012 edition features one less team than in 2011, with Pune Warriors no longer a franchise.

Chennai Super Kings, captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, are the team to beat in the 2012 edition, having won both of the previous IPLs to establish themselves as the premier franchise in the competition.

MCC World Cricket committee Member Rahul Dravid is possibly appearing as a professional cricketer for the last time, in the tournament.

Speaking to Lord's TV at the Emirates Airline T20 in Dubai, Dravid's IPL teammate Shaun Tait spoke of his excitement ahead of the tournament, and his pride at playing alongside the former India batsman.

MCC & Spirit of Cricket

MCC is the custodian of the Laws of Cricket. The current code of the Laws - issued in the year 2000 - included a preamble entitled the Spirit of Cricket for the first time.

The idea of a written Spirit of Cricket was first introduced by ex-England players and prominent MCC Members Ted Dexter and Lord (Colin) Cowdrey.

Since then the scheme has grown and works in partnership with a number of cricketing initiatives including the Chance to Shine scheme.

The annual Cowdrey Lecture has also been introduced in memory of Lord Cowdrey with MCC inviting a prominent member of the cricketing community to address the state of the game.

Former Cowdrey Lecture speakers include Imran Khan (2010), The Most Reverend Dr Desmond Tutu (2008) and Geoffrey Boycott OBE (2005) and perhaps most famously, Kumar Sangakkara in 2011.

Share this page

Back to Top