Match Day Centre England lead Pakistan by 56 runs with 4 wickets remaining

Bookmark and Share

MCC 'graduates' earn ICC nominations

MCC cricketing graduates, including Andrew Strauss and Kevin O’Brien, have been nominated for the LG ICC Awards 2011.

England Test skipper Strauss, a former MCC Universities (MCCU) (opens in a new window) student, has been nominated in the Cricketer of the Year category.

Former MCC Young Cricketer (YC) O’Brien meanwhile, England’s destroyer in Ireland’s famous ICC World Cup victory in Bangalore, is nominated in the Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year category.

Two other ex-YCs, Hamid Hassan of Afghanistan and O'Brien's Ireland teammate Gary Wilson, are up for the same award.

MCCU graduate Laura Marsh is shortlisted for the Women’s Player of the year, alongside her England captain and MCC Member Charlotte Edwards and Lydia Greenway, who has coached at MCC Spirit of Cricket camps.

MCC Head of Cricket John Stephenson offered his congratulations to those nominated and expressed his pride in their success.

He said: “It always brings great pleasure to see those who have been involved with MCC go onto further success in their cricketing careers.

“To be nominated as one of the best in your peer group is an outstanding achievement.

“I hope to see one or more of these players triumph in their award category and to see other MCC graduates continue to achieve success on the pitch in the future.”


Strauss’ nomination comes on the back of a magnificent year for England, who are on the cusp of taking over from India as the top rated side in Test cricket.

The ex-Durham MCCU opener achieved the rare feat of winning back-to-back Ashes series’ as captain and has led England to six victories with just one defeat in the last ten Tests.

He faces tough opposition from the other players nominated for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy though, who include seven of his England teammates.

Hassan and O’Brien both have legitimate claims to lift the Associate Player of the Year trophy.

O’Brien’s sensational knock against England set up the biggest upset of the 2011 World Cup and its protagonist was rewarded with a county contract at Gloucestershire.

Hassan meanwhile has been Afghanistan’s star performer in their rise to prominence in the world game, playing a major role in their ICC Intercontinental Cup victory.

Honour the best

A number of other players and umpires involved with MCC were also included in the various short lists.

Umpire and regular MCC Playing Member Richard Kettleborough is among those nominated for the Umpire of the Year award after being elevated to the ICC Elite Panel earlier in 2011.

Also nominated for that award is MCC World Cricket Committee (WCC) Member Simon Taufel.

Taufel’s fellow WCC Member Rahul Dravid is up for the Test Cricketer of the Year award and the Cricketer of the Year Award.

This will be the eighth annual award ceremony to honour the best of international cricket.

Ten individual awards will be handed out, as well as the Test and ODI teams of the year and an award for the country adjudged to have adhered most to the Spirit of Cricket.


Share this page

Back to Top