Bookmark and Share

Law 24 changes - No Ball

Law 24

Changes | Reason for change | Interpretation & Application | Video example


Changes to the Law are in italics

24.6.    Bowler breaking wicket in delivering ball

Either umpire shall call and signal No ball if, other than in an attempt to run out the non-striker under Law 42.15, the bowler breaks the wicket at any time after the ball comes into play and before he completes the stride after the delivery stride.  See Appendix D.  Laws 23.4(b)(viii), 23.4(b)(ix) and 10 below will apply.

Reason for the change

It has been decided to introduce a new Law 24.6, making it a No ball if the bowler breaks the wicket at the non-striker’s end, except in an attempt to run out the non-striker as permitted by Law 42.15. This change removes any doubt over whether the striker may have been distracted by the disturbance, but provides the striker with protection from most forms of dismissal, whilst crediting him with any runs he may score.

Interpretation and application

A new clause had been introduced – which means the following sections have been renumbered – requiring the call and signal of No ball if the bowler breaks the wicket at the bowler’s end while delivering the ball.  ‘While delivering the ball’ is defined as from the moment the ball comes into play until not only has the bowler’s front foot landed to complete his delivery stride but another stride has been completed, by the landing of his other foot – the one that was the back foot in the delivery stride. 

Clearly the bowler is not going to break the wicket at the start of a long run up, but the provision ‘from when the ball comes into play’ is equivalent to ‘whenever he is physically within reach of the stumps, with his feet, his hands, his arms or any other part of his body’. 

Either umpire can make the call and signal.  The umpires may need to consult if there is doubt about how the wicket was broken.  If a bail is found on the ground, and neither umpire knows how the wicket was broken, no action should be taken.

If play is taking place without bails, either umpire should still call and signal No ball if he is confident that the bowler made contact with the wicket.

Should the bowler not make contact with the stumps and a bail falls from the non striker’s end stumps (blown by the wind), then there is no need to do anything – play should still continue as it normally would have done in the past. “No ball” not to be called and no call of “Dead ball” unless the umpire feels it appropriate based on when this happens in the run up.

No ball for bowler breaking the wicket during delivery

Share this page

Back to Top

About cookies - This site uses cookies to improve your site experience as set out in our Cookie Policy.