Match Day Centre

Bookmark and Share

Law changes quiz

The following questions are all based on areas of Law that have been altered in the 5th Edition of the 2000 Code of Laws.

The questions vary in their difficulty but hopefully will provide umpires, scorers, players and cricket fans with some practical examples of how the changes will affect the outcome in certain situations.

1.    A batsman with a runner is on strike.  The ball is a No ball.  The striker moves out of his ground to play at the ball but he misses it.  He tries to get back into his ground but is not able to do so before the wicket-keeper puts the wicket down.  The runner is within his ground at square leg.  There is an appeal.  What is your decision and why?  If he is out, state the method of dismissal.

2.    A fast bowler, while waiting for the batsman to have a replacement bat brought out to him, bowls the match ball hard into the ground at the fielder at mid-off.  He is preparing to do this again.  What should you do?

3.    In a game where a new ball can be taken after 80 overs, the captain of the fielding side takes a new ball after 82.3 overs.  What is the earliest point that the next new ball can be taken?

4.    Between deliveries in the middle of an over, you notice a fielder at fine leg bowling some practice balls to a coach who is standing beyond the boundary.  They are not using the match ball for this.  The fielder in question had bowled the preceding over.  What should you do?

5.    The striker hits the ball, which is not a No ball, in the air towards the boundary.  A fielder near the boundary ‘catches’ the ball on the run within the field of play but his momentum is taking him towards the boundary.  He throws the ball in the air before he steps over the boundary.  A second fielder, who is nearby, steps outside the boundary and, from that position, leaps in the air to parry the ball (while he is airborne) back into the field of play, where it is caught by the first fielder, who has by now stepped back inside the boundary.  Is the striker out or, if not, how many runs should be scored?

6.    The bowler, during his delivery stride, accidentally breaks the wicket with his knee.  The delivery hits the striker’s wicket.  What should you do as the bowler’s end umpire?

7.    The striker hits a ball, which was not a No ball, in the air to the fielder at short-leg.  The ball hits the fielder’s shoulder, then the grille of his helmet, before the fielder catches the ball.  There is an appeal and the batsman starts to walk off the field.  What should you do?

8.    The striker hits a ball, which is not a No ball, and it lobs in the air and it seems it might land on his own stumps.  The wicket-keeper was standing next to the stumps but, before he could take what would have been a simple catch, the striker knocks the ball away with a hand not holding the bat.  There is an appeal.  Should the striker be out and, if so, how?

9.    During a drinks interval, you notice one of the batsmen getting some coaching from his coach on the outfield.  This involves the coach throwing him some balls to practice his forward defence shot.  The batting side has not been warned previously about practising during the innings.  What action should you take?

10.    During a delay while the sight-screen is being moved, the bowler bowls a practice ball to a fielder, using the match ball.  It is just a slow ball but it bounces once before the fielder catches it.  Is this practice allowed?

11.    A batsman with a runner is on strike.  The ball is not a No ball.  The striker moves out of his ground to play at the ball but he misses it.  He just manages to get back into his ground before the wicket-keeper puts the wicket down.  However, when the wicket is put down, the striker’s runner is out of his ground at square leg.  There is an appeal.  What is your decision and why?  If he is out, state the method of dismissal.

12.    The bowler delivers the ball from a position close to the return crease but it is not a No ball.  You are sure that the bowler has not touched the stumps at any stage during the delivery.  The batsman hits the ball in the air and is caught at mid off.  As he is about to walk off, he notices a bail is on the ground at the bowler’s end wicket.  He suggests to you that it should be a No ball.  What is your decision?

13.    The batsmen are running and a run out might occur.  The ball is powerfully thrown by a fielder towards the wicket keeper.  One of the batsmen, who is running to make good his ground on a straight and wholly acceptable path, raises his hand and uses it to defend himself from the ball, which was likely to hit him on the head – he is not wearing a helmet.  But for this interception, you are confident that a Run out was likely to occur.  There is an appeal.  What is your decision?

14.    The striker makes a lawful second strike, using his bat, in defence of his wicket.  The ball goes towards gulley, where a fielder picks it up and attempts to run out the striker, who is standing just out of his ground.  The throw misses the stumps and the ball rolls towards the boundary, but doesn’t reach it.  The batsmen complete one run and turn for a second.  What should you do?

15.    The batsman is ready to take strike and all the fielders are in their correct positions.  The bowler chooses to bowl three practice deliveries to the fielder at mid off, which the fielder catches on the full.  You are the bowler’s end umpire.  What should you do?

16.    A spin bowler accidentally breaks the wicket at his own end during his delivery stride.  You are the bowler’s end umpire and you immediately call and signal No ball.  However, the bowler, who realises what he has done, does not release the ball.  What should you do?

17.    The striker plays the ball and it drops in front of him.  He immediately picks it up and throws the ball to a close fielder.  No fielder has communicated with the batsman.  How does the umpire answer an appeal?

18.    A batsman hits the ball, the last of the over, and the ball rolls towards his wicket. He is concerned that he might be bowled, so he kicks the ball away to guard his wicket. The batsmen then start to run before a fielder picks up the ball and throws it at the bowler’s end wicket. The ball misses the wicket. The batsmen had crossed on their first run before the fielder threw the ball at the wicket. What should the umpire at the bowler’s end do?

19.    The striker hits the ball a second time in safeguarding his wicket and it goes towards square leg.  The batsmen run.  A fielder picks up and throws the ball, which hits the helmet of the fielder left on the ground behind the wicket-keeper.  It hits the helmet before the batsmen have completed the first run.  What should you as bowler’s end umpire do?

20.    A straight drive played along the ground by the striker is wilfully stopped by the non-striker with his hand not holding the bat (not in self-defence). There is an appeal.  You are the bowler’s end umpire.  What should you do?  Would your decision be different if the handling prevented the bowler from taking a catch?

Share this page

Back to Top

About cookies - This site uses cookies to improve your site experience as set out in our Cookie Policy.