Bookmark and Share

Law changes quiz - answers

See below for the Answers to the Laws of Cricket 5th Edition changes quiz.

Click here to open the questions page in another window.

1.         He is not out.  The injured striker is now protected from what would have been a stumping if it was not a No ball.  See Law 2.8(e)

2.         This form of practice is not wasting time but it is likely to cause damage to the ball under Law 42.3 if the ball is bowled hard into the ground.  The penalties outlined in Law 42.3 should be followed.  These are:

         (i)           change the ball forthwith.  It shall be for the umpires to decide on the replacement ball.  It shall, in their opinion, have had wear comparable to that which the previous ball had received immediately prior to the contravention.

           Additionally the bowler’s end umpire shall

         (ii)          award 5 penalty runs to the batting side.

         (iii)         inform the batsmen that the ball has been changed.

         (iv)         inform the captain of the fielding side that the reason for the action was the unfair interference with the ball.

         (v)          inform the captain of the batting side as soon as practicable of what has occurred.

         (vi)         together with the other umpire report the occurrence as soon as possible after the match to the Executive of the fielding side and to any Governing Body responsible for the match, who shall take such action as is considered appropriate against the captain and team concerned.

3.        The third new ball can be taken at the start of the 164th over. (See Law 5.4)

4.         This form of practice is illegal, as it involves a ball other than the match ball and also involves someone who is not a member of the fielding side.  (Either one of these conditions is enough to breach Law 17.)  The fielder must not be allowed to bowl until at least 30 minutes playing time has elapsed from the moment of the contravention, or until one hour has elapsed, whichever is the sooner. (See Law 17)

5.        Yes, the striker is out Caught.  The first fielder’s first contact with the ball must be when he is grounded within the boundary or, if he is airborne, when he took off from within the boundary.  However, any subsequent contact by any fielder can be made from any position, as long as the fielder is not in contact with the ball and the ground beyond the boundary at the same time.  (See Laws 19 and 32)

6.         You should call and signal No ball.  The striker is not out Bowled.  (See Law 24.6)

7.         It cannot be a fair catch if the ball has touched the helmet being worn by a fielder at any stage between leaving the bat and the completion of the catch.  However, the ball remains in play and no penalty runs should be awarded.  You should call and signal Dead ball, as the batsman is leaving his wicket under the misapprehension of being out.  You should tell the striker and the captain of the fielding side that the striker is not out Caught because the ball had touched a fielder’s helmet.  (See Law 32)

8.         The striker is out Obstructing the field.  Although the circumstances of Law 33 (Handled the ball) are met, the fact that a catch was obstructed means that he should be out Obstructing the Field.  (See Laws 33 & 37).

9.         This form of practice is not allowed – see Law 17.3.  You should warn the player that the practice is not permitted, and inform the other umpire, the captain of the fielding side and, as soon as practicable, the captain of the batting side of the reason for this action.  This warning shall apply throughout the innings.  The umpire shall so inform each incoming batsman.  (Note, any subsequent breach by the batting side will incur a five run penalty.)

10.     Yes, this practice is allowed.  It is not wasting time and it is unlikely to cause damage to the ball.  (See Law 17.3)

11.     The striker is out Run out.  He cannot be out Stumped because of the position of his runner.  (See Law 2.8(e))

12.     The striker is out Caught.  You are sure that the bowler did not breach Law 24.6 and so the ball is not a No ball.  No ball should only be called if you are sure that it was the bowler who broke the wicket.  You may consult your colleague for verification if needed.

13.      The batsman is not out.  If you are sure that the batsman’s act was one of self-defence, he is not out.  (See Law 37.1).  The fact that a run out might have occurred is irrelevant in this incident.

14.     Runs are no longer permitted after a lawful second strike, even after an overthrow.  You should call and signal Dead ball once the batsmen have completed the first run and return them to their original ends.  (See Law 34)

15.      This is time wasting by the fielding side. You should warn the captain of the fielding side, indicating that this is a first and final warning.  You should also inform the batsmen of what has occurred.  (See Laws 17 and 42.3)

16.      The ball is not a No ball if it is not delivered by the bowler.  You should call and signal Dead ball and then turn to the scorers and signal only a Dead ball signal.  You may need to clarify the situation later with the scorers.  (See Laws 23 & 24)

17.      He is out Obstructing the field.  (See Law 37)

18.      You should wait either until the batsmen have completed their first run or until the ball becomes dead for any other reason.  Runs are not allowed after a lawful second strike but the fielding side should be given the chance for a Run out to occur during the first attempted run.  If the batsmen have completed one run, you should call and signal Dead ball and return them to their original ends.  If a Run out or Obstruction of the field occurs before the first run is completed, the relevant batsman will be out.  (See Law 34)

19.      You should call and signal Dead ball as soon as the ball hits the helmet.  You should return the batsmen to their original ends, informing them that runs cannot be scored after a lawful second strike.  You should repeat the Dead ball signal to the scorers and, if necessary, clarify that no Penalty runs are scored for the ball striking the helmet. (See Law 34)

20.     In the first scenario, the non-striker is out Obstructing the field.  Under the new Law, only the striker can be out Handled the ball and only during a limited period while he is receiving the ball.  In the second scenario where a catch is obstructed, the striker would be out Obstructing the field, even though it was the non-striker who caused the obstruction.  (See Laws 33 & 37)

Share this page

Back to Top

About cookies - Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.