Bookmark and Share

Law 14 (Declaration and forfeiture)

1. Time of declaration

The captain of the side batting may declare an innings closed, when the ball is dead, at any time during the innings.

2. Forfeiture of an innings

A captain may forfeit either of his side’s innings at any time before the commencement of that innings. A forfeited innings shall be considered to be a completed innings.

3. Notification

A captain shall notify the opposing captain and the umpires of his decision to declare or to forfeit an innings. Law 10.1(e) (Insufficient time to complete rolling) shall apply.

© Marylebone Cricket Club 2013

Share this page

Further Reading

Search Laws

Buy the laws of cricket now

Back to Top