Bookmark and Share

Law 22 (The over)

1. Number of balls

The ball shall be bowled from each end alternately in overs of 6 balls.

2. Start of an over

An over has started when the bowler starts his run up or, if he has no run up, his action for the first delivery of that over.

3. Validity of balls

(a) A ball shall not count as one of the 6 balls of the over unless it is delivered, even though, as in Law 42.15 (Bowler attempting to run out non-striker before delivery) a batsman may be dismissed or some other incident occurs without the ball having been delivered.

(b) A ball delivered by the bowler shall not count as one of the 6 balls of the over

(i) if it is called dead, or is to be considered dead, before the striker has had an opportunity to play it. See Law 23.6 (Dead Ball; ball counting as one of over).

(ii) if it is called dead in the circumstances of Law 23.4(b)(vi) (Umpire calling and signalling Dead ball). Note also the special provisions of Law 23.4(b)(v).

(iii) if it is a No ball. See Law 24 (No ball).

(iv) if it is a Wide. See Law 25 (Wide ball).

(v) when 5 penalty runs are awarded to the batting side under any of Laws 2.6 (Player returning without permission), 41.2 (Fielding the ball), 42.4 (Deliberate attempt to distract striker), or 42.5 (Deliberate distraction or obstruction of batsman).

(c) Any deliveries other than those listed in (a) and (b) above shall be known as valid balls. Only valid balls shall count towards the 6 balls of the over.

4. Call of Over

When 6 valid balls have been bowled and when the ball becomes dead, the umpire shall call Over before leaving the wicket. See also Law 23.3 (Call of Over or Time).

5. Umpire miscounting

(a) If the umpire miscounts the number of valid balls, the over as counted by the umpire shall stand.

(b) If, having miscounted, the umpire allows an over to continue after 6 valid balls have been bowled, he may subsequently call Over as the ball becomes dead after any delivery, even if that delivery is not a valid ball.

6. Bowler changing ends

A bowler shall be allowed to change ends as often as desired, provided he does not bowl two overs consecutively, nor bowl parts of each of two consecutive overs, in the same innings.

7. Finishing an over

(a) Other than at the end of an innings, a bowler shall finish an over in progress unless he is incapacitated or is suspended under any of the Laws.

(b) If for any reason, other than the end of an innings, an over is left uncompleted at the start of an interval or interruption, it shall be completed on resumption of play.

8. Bowler incapacitated or suspended during an over

If for any reason a bowler is incapacitated while running up to deliver the first ball of an over, or is incapacitated or suspended during an over, the umpire shall call and signal Dead ball. Another bowler shall complete the over from the same end, provided that he does not bowl two overs consecutively, nor bowl parts of each of two consecutive overs, in that innings.

© Marylebone Cricket Club 2013


Share this page

Back to Top
Google+