Bookmark and Share

Watson & North make history

Shane Watson and Marcus North's names became the first added to the new 'neutral Test' Lord's Honours Boards.

MCC commissioned the new Honours Boards to accommodate those that play neutral Test Matches at the Home of Cricket.

Previously, the famous Lord's Honours Boards accomodated only those playing for or against England. Players could earn their place on the boards by scoring a century; taking five wickets in an innings; or ten in a match.

In July Pakistan took on Australia in the MCC Spirit of Cricket Test - the first neutral Test Match at Lord's since 1912.

Shane Watson (5-40) and Marcus North (6-55) became the first men to add their name to the new boards since countrymen Charles Kelleway and Warren Bardsley.

Kelleway and Bardsley scored centuries against South Africa back in 1912.

Though both are more noted for their batting, Watson and North earned their 'Honours' for their bowling - becoming the first bowlers on the new boards.

Though their appearance on the Honours Boards may have raised a few eyebrows they have achieved something several cricketing greats have not.

Australia captain Ricky Ponting may be the second highest run-scorer in Test history - but his best score at Lord's is just 42.

Another Australia legend, Shane Warne, never took a five-for a Lord's. His best innings bowling figures at the Home of Cricket are 4-57 - en-route to 8-159 in Australia's crushing 1993 Ashes Test victory.

They're not alone either: Brian Lara and Sachin Tendulkar are other notable names not on the Lord's Honours Boards - yet!

Share this page

Back to Top