Bookmark and Share

Awards hat-trick for MCC youngsters

A trio of players with links to MCC programmes for young cricketers are among the 2010 NBC Denis Compton Award winners.

MCC Universities players Toby Roland-Jones and Tom Westley and former MCC Young Cricketer Alex Hales are among the 2010 winners.

The awards, named after the famous England and Middlesex batsman Denis Compton (after whom the Compton Stand at Lord's is also named), are given to the most promising young player at each of the 18 First Class counties.

Breakthrough season

Middlesex seamer Roland-Jones enjoyed a breakthrough season for the Lord’s-based county.

The 22-year-old, who attended Leeds-Bradford MCCU between 2006 and 2009, made his First Class debut for Middlesex against Oxford MCCU in May.

He was selected for the first XI regularly during the summer and finished with remarkable First Class figures of 38 wickets at 19.60 from his eight matches.

Westley & Hales hat-tricks

Current Durham MCCU and Essex batsman Westley won his third successive Denis Compton award.

Westley, who has been a part of Essex’s first team plans since his debut against Cambridge MCCU in 2007, played 11 times in all forms of the game in 2010.

The 21-year-old’s season highlight came in May when he made 132 against Kent at Chelmsford, his second First Class century.

At Trent Bridge former MCC Young Cricketer Hales continued to establish himself at the top of the order with LV County Champions Nottinghamshire.

Hales, who also collected his third consecutive Denis Compton award, was a consistent presence, playing in 12 of Nottinghamshire’s 16 fixtures as they clinched the First Division title.

The 21-year-old, who spent a season with the YC’s in 2007, accumulated 677 runs at an average of 35.63 including a maiden First Class century - 136 against Hampshire at Trent Bridge.

MCC Head of Cricket, John Stephenson said of the award-winners: "I'm delighted the considerable talents of Tom, Toby and Alex have been recognised at county level.

"They are all fine young players and further proof of the excellence produced and nurtured by MCC's Young Cricketers and Universities schemes.

"Through the MCCUs and Young Cricketers, MCC is committed to providing the coaching, facilities and fixtures to enable elite young cricketers to excel, and it's always a pleasure to see graduates of the schemes enjoy success."

More MCC links

Other winners of the award include Derbyshire’s Chesney Hughes, who helped Derbyshire 2nd XI to win the 2009 MCC Universities Twenty20 competition.

Kent’s Sam Northeast represented his School Harrow in the historic annual schools fixture with Eton at Lord’s while Warwickshire’s Chris Woakes represented MCC in the 2009 County Champion match against Durham.

The NBC Denis Compton Award has recognised the most talented young player at each county since it's inception in 1996. Past winners include Marcus Trescothick, Graeme Swann, James Anderson and Eoin Morgan.

Share this page

Back to Top

About cookies - This site uses cookies to improve your site experience as set out in our Cookie Policy.