Bookmark and Share

Finn & Tendulkar win ICC awards columnist Steven Finn capped his rapid international ascent by being named ICC Emerging Player of the Year in Bengaluru with Sachin Tendulkar crowned Cricketer of the Year.

Finn wins another award

Finn has had a remarkable 2010. The 21-year-old fast bowler has picked up 32 wickets in eight Test matches since making his debut in Bangladesh in May - including 9-187 in a man-of-the-match performance against the Tigers at Lord’s.

Finn beat Pakistan’s Umar Akmal, Angelo Mathews of Sri Lanka and Australia wicket-keeper Tim Paine to the award at the annual ceremony.

After playing in all six home Tests in 2010 the 6’8" Middlesex quick won a place in the England Ashes squad to defend the Urn Down Under this winter.

He has formed part of a menacing bowling attack, alongside Stuart Broad, Jimmy Anderson and Graeme Swann - who lost out to Tendulkar for the Cricketer of the Year prize.

Finn's dramatic arrival on the international scene also caught the eye of the British press, who voted him Cricket Writers Club Young Player of the Year.

Sachin lifts the top award

Sachin Tendulark passed 1,000 Test runs in a calendar year for a record sixth time in the victory over Australia in Mohali and lifts his first Cricketer of the Year award.

The 37-year-old Indian legend could make his final visit to the Home of Cricket next summer when England host India - with Lord's to host a Test and One Day International.

 Past winners in the top gong’s seven year history include Australia captain Ricky Ponting and the recently retired Andrew Flintoff.

Swann pipped to the post

England off-spinner, Graeme Swann, who collected nine wickets in England’s crushing innings defeat of Pakistan at Lord’s in August, was one of four players shortlisted for the award.

His name was controversially left out of the original long-list of candidates, but was added after an outcry from the English cricketing public.

Swann did make the Test Team of the Year however, alongside teammate Jimmy Anderson, with Stuart Broad and Paul Collingwood included in the One Day International XI.

Share this page

Back to Top