Bookmark and Share

IPL continues in the Spirit of Cricket

The fourth Indian Premier League is underway and MCC’s Spirit of Cricket continues to partner the groundbreaking competition.

MCC has been involved with the IPL since its inaugural tournament in 2008 and the revolutionary Twenty20 league has each year pledged to ‘Play Hard, Play Fair’.

The captain of each of the ten franchises has signed a charter pledging to uphold the Spirit of Cricket throughout the tournament - which runs from 8 April to 28 May.

MCC’s animated Spirit of Cricket video is played during every game while Spirit of Cricket perimeter advertising is prominent at each ground:


The IPL has proved a massive hit since its debut season. The 2011 edition is the biggest yet, with two new franchises - Pune Warriors and Kochi Tuskers Kerala - joining the competition.

It is all change for the eight existing franchises as well after the vast majority of player contracts were renegotiated earlier in 2011.

Each of the three editions so far has produced a different winner, with Chennai Super Kings the defending champions.

India’s success in the ICC World Cup means the already cricket-mad country is riding on the crest of a wave with fans sure to embrace the tournament once again.

MCC Secretary & Chief Executive Keith Bradshaw was delighted with the IPLs continued commitment to the Spirit of Cricket campaign.

"The IPL has embraced the Spirit of Cricket initiative since its inception and we are delighted at this continued commitment." said Bradshaw.

"The competition continues to capture the imagination of cricket lovers the world over and it is pleasing that each of the ten franchises are backing MCC’s campaign to 'Play Hard and Play Fair'."

MCC & Spirit of Cricket

MCC is the custodian of the Laws of Cricket. The current code of the Laws - issued in the year 2000 - included a preamble entitled the Spirit of Cricket for the first time.

The idea of a written Spirit of Cricket was first introduced by ex-England players and prominent MCC Members Ted Dexter and Lord (Colin) Cowdrey.

Since then the scheme has grown and works in partnership with a number of cricketing initiatives including the Chance to Shine scheme.

The annual Cowdrey Lecture has also been introduced in memory of Lord Cowdrey with MCC inviting a prominent member of the cricketing community to address the state of the game.

Former Cowdrey Lecture speakers include Imran Khan (2010), The Most Reverend Dr Desmond Tutu (2008) and Geoffrey Boycott OBE (2005).

Share this page

Back to Top