Bookmark and Share

Knight among Walter Lawrence Trophy winners

Heather Knight - one of the Walter Lawrence Trophy winner
Heather Knight - one of the Walter Lawrence Trophy winner

Durham MCC University's Ivo Hobson and former MCC Young Cricketer Heather Knight are among the winners of the 2013 Walter Lawrence Trophy.

Hobson won his award for the highest score by a MCCU player against another university or first-class county - making 129 against Cambridge MCCU.

The 22-year-old right-hander hit 11 fours and a six in his 216-ball knock at Fenner's on 11 June.

Knight meanwhile made headlines for her stunning knock of 157 for England Women against Australia in the one-off Ashes Test match, helping her side secure a fighting draw.

The ex-YC and Cardiff MCCU Graduate's marathon knock was compiled over a total of 338 balls and formed part of a record-breaking England seventh-wicket partnership of 156 with Laura Marsh.

Knight, also 22, had a prolific season at all levels, plundering 604 runs at an average of more than 100 in the Women's County Championship, as well as playing a key role in the shorter formats during England's Ashes Series victory.

Nitish Kumar meanwhile was the winner of the Schools Award, making the highest score by a schools player against MCC in the 2013 summer. The 19-year-old Canada international made 154*  for Repton School against MCC on 7 May.

The main Walter Lawrence Trophy is awarded to the scorer of the fastest century of the 2013 English summer and was awarded this year to Darren Stevens of Kent.

The famous Lord's Long Room will host the awards ceremony on 15 October, with Knight and Hobson receiving a £500 prize and medallion, and Kumar accepting a medallion and Gray-Nicholls bat.

Share this page

Back to Top

About cookies - This site uses cookies to improve your site experience as set out in our Cookie Policy.