Bookmark and Share

Pietersen, Lee and Murali added to RoW match

Kevin Pietersen, Brett Lee and Muttiah Muralitharan
Kevin Pietersen, Brett Lee and Muttiah Muralitharan

Brett Lee, Kevin Pietersen and Muttiah Muralitharan have been confirmed for the MCC v Rest of the World Lord’s Bicentenary celebration match on Saturday 5 July.

The MCC XI will be led by India legend Sachin Tendulkar, and also includes Rahul Dravid and England assistant coach Paul Collingwood.

Shane Warne will captain the Rest of the World XI which will include former Hampshire teammate Pietersen and Sri Lanka spinner Muralitharan, while Lee will represent MCC. 

The Rest of the World XI will be managed by ex-South Africa all-rounder and MCC World Cricket committee member Shaun Pollock, while the MCC XI will be managed by MCC President Mike Gatting.

In focus: Pietersen, Lee and Muralitharan

Muralitharan, who recently captained an MCC side in the Emirates T20 tournament in Dubai, will be making his ninth appearance at Lord’s, his last having come in the final of the ICC World T20 in 2009, which Sri Lanka lost to Pakistan.

Australian fast bowler Lee has previously turned out nine times at the Home of Cricket, two of which came in Ashes victories in 2001 and 2005.

This will also be Lee’s first appearance at Lord’s since being presented with MCC Honorary Life Membership in 2013.

England’s all-time international run scorer, Pietersen made 1,520 runs in 26 international matches at Lord’s, averaging 56.13 in Test matches at the Home of Cricket.

Playing at Lord’s is always very special and I’m looking forward to celebrating the 200th anniversary of what is a fantastic ground

Pietersen appears on the Honours Board five times, having scored Test centuries at Lord’s against Australia, Sri Lanka, South Africa and on two occasions against India.

The 33-year-old played alongside Warne on a number of occasions in Hampshire’s 2007 county season, most notably in the final of the 2007 Friends Provident Trophy against Durham.

The MCC v Rest of the World match on 5 July will be the first time the duo have appeared at Lord’s together since.

Brett Lee said: "I was very proud to have been given MCC Honorary Life Membership last year and it will be a pleasure to help the Club celebrate the Lord’s Bicentenary by playing in this match.

"Lord’s is a great place to play cricket and this is a fantastic opportunity for me. There are a lot of familiar faces involved in both teams and I’m looking forward to celebrating such a special occasion with them."

Muttiah Muralitharan said: "It’s a great honour to have been asked to take part in this historic fixture, and I can’t wait to get back to Lord’s for the match.

"I thoroughly enjoyed playing for MCC in the UAE recently and it’s very exciting to be involved with the Club again."

Kevin Pietersen said: "I was delighted to be asked to be involved in this game and the chance to share the Lord’s pitch with some of best players in the world is one I was delighted to accept.

Shane Warne is a good friend of mine and I’ve enjoyed playing alongside him before so I’m sure it’ll be great fun to do it again. Playing at Lord’s is always very special and I’m looking forward to celebrating the 200th anniversary of what is a fantastic ground."

MCC Head of Cricket, John Stephenson, said: "We are very pleased to confirm that Brett, Kevin and Muttiah will be playing in this match. It is testament to the status of Lord’s as the Home of Cricket that such quality players are keen to come and celebrate its Bicentenary with MCC, and we look forward to welcoming them back to the ground alongside the raft of world-class players we have already confirmed for this match."

A limited number of hospitality packages are still available for the match, both in the Marylebone Suite and Captain’s Lounge.

For more information email or call 0207 616 8598.

A limited number of tickets are available from or 0207 616 7432 1000.

The inaugural MCC Women v Rest of the World Women match takes place on Monday 19 May, also at Lord’s, with the teams announced earlier this week.

Players confirmed so far

Name Country Team
Sachin Tendulkar India MCC (captain)
Shane Warne Australia Rest of the World (captain)
Rahul Dravid India MCC
Adam Gilchrist Australia Rest of the World
Paul Collingwood England MCC
Kevin Pietersen England Rest of the World
Brett Lee Australia MCC
Muttiah Muralitheran Sri Lanka Rest of the World
Shivnarine Chanderpaul West Indies TBC
Yuvraj Singh India TBC
Daniel Vettori New Zealand TBC
Virender Sehwag India TBC
Shaun Tait Australia TBC
Shahid Afridi Pakistan TBC
Tamim Iqbal Bangladesh TBC
Saeed Ajmal Pakistan TBC

Share this page

Back to Top