Match Day Centre Pakistan lead England by 166 runs with 2 wickets remaining

Bookmark and Share

Bell and Edwards England Cricketers of the Year

Stephen George, Charlotte Edwards, Ian Bell and Will Rhodes pose with their awards
Stephen George, Charlotte Edwards, Ian Bell and Will Rhodes pose with their awards

Ian Bell and Charlotte Edwards were named as England's Men's and Women's Cricketers of the Year 2013/14 in an awards ceremony at Lord's.

Bell was rewarded for his contribution to England's home Ashes victory, where he made three centuries and two half-centuries in the five-match series - including 109 in the win at Lord's.

Women's captain Edwards led the side to back-to-back Ashes victories both at home and Down Under, with her consistent run-scoring a crucial part of both wins. She also became the second woman to be named a Wisden Cricketer of the Year.

The awards recognise performances in the past year, and were voted for by members of the cricket media.

Bell overcame competition from Stuart Broad and Joe Root, with Edwards beating Natalie Sciver, Anya Shrubsole and Sarah Taylor, who were all nominated for the award. The pair were presented with their awards at a dinner in the Long Room on Monday 9 June.

In addition, England Under 19s captain Will Rhodes picked up England Development Programme Cricketer of the Year and Stephen George of the England Deaf Squad won England Disability Cricketer of the Year.

ECB Chief Executive David Collier said: "These awards are always fiercely contested and represent a huge accolade for the individuals concerned. We thank the MCC for their help in staging this event in one of cricket's most iconic locations - the Long Room at Lord's."

Share this page

Back to Top