Match Day Centre Pakistan trail England by 134 runs with 9 wickets remaining

Bookmark and Share

Lara and Finch to feature in RoW clash

Brian Lara and Aaron Finch
Brian Lara and Aaron Finch

West Indies great Brian Lara and Australia's Aaron Finch are among the final six players confirmed to take part in the MCC v Rest of the World match Lord’s Bicentenary match on Saturday 5 July.

Lara will play alongside fellow icon Sachin Tendulkar for MCC, with in-form Australia batsman Aaron Finch also confirmed to turn out for the hosts.

Finch's countryman Peter Siddle has been selected for the Rest of the World, with Nottinghamshire teammate Chris Read completing the MCC line-up for the 50-over match.

Fast bowlers Tino Best (West Indies) and Umar Gul (Pakistan) are the final names to be added to the Rest of the World and MCC sides respectively.

Led by India legend Tendulkar, MCC feature include Rahul Dravid, Saeed Ajmal and Brett Lee.

Shane Warne will lead out a Rest of the World side, featuring the likes of Kevin Pietersen, Muttiah Muralitharan and Shahid Afridi.

The Rest of the World will be managed by ex-South Africa all-rounder and MCC World Cricket committee member Shaun Pollock, while the MCC team will be managed by Club President Mike Gatting.

Lara has appeared at Lord’s on eight previous occasions in Tests and One Day Internationals and will be reunited with former West Indies teammate Shivnarine Chanderpaul in the MCC team.

Lara on Tendulkar

Finch, who is currently enjoying a rich vein of form for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Pepsi Indian Premier League, will be making his Lord’s debut in the fixture.

The opener was one of the leading run scorers in the recent ICC World T20 tournament in Bangladesh, and is currently rated the number one T20 International batsman in the world.

Pakistan bowler Gul has appeared at Lord’s on six previous occasions, including the ICC World T20 Final victory against Sri Lanka in 2009.

Full teams

MCC Rest of the World
Name Country Name Country
Sachin Tendulkar (captain)   India Shane Warne (captain)  Australia
Saeed Ajmal Pakistan Shahid Afridi Pakistan
Shivnarine Chanderpaul West Indies Tino Best * West Indies
Rahul Dravid India Paul Collingwood England
Aaron Finch Australia Adam Gilchrist Australia
Umar Gul Pakistan Tamim Iqbal Bangladesh
Brian Lara West Indies Muttiah Muralitharan Sri Lanka
Brett Lee Australia Kevin Pietersen England
Chris Read England Virender Sehwag India
Shaun Tait Australia Peter Siddle Australia
Daniel Vettori New Zealand Yuvraj Singh India

*Subject to international & club commitments

Sehwag looks forward to MCC v Rest of the World

Share this page

Back to Top