Bookmark and Share

Our Blogs

About MCC Laws Department

assets/

Obstructing the field?

Mohammad Hafeez's dismissal for Obstructing the field in an ODI between Pakistan and South Africa brought this sometimes forgotten Law into the spotli... Read more

Cook run out - what the Laws say

Alastair Cook was run out in unfortunate circumstances in the third Test at Eden Gardens against India, but did the umpires make the right decision? Read more

Gambhir, Bairstow and the helmet...

Jonny Bairstow was caught by Gautam Gambhir at silly point during the second Test between England and India in Mumbai, despite the ball having struck ... Read more

Seeing no balls in black and white...

After several decisions in the first Test between Australia and South Africa were overturned through no balls, MCC's Laws Department replies to those ... Read more

Out twice in one ball

Australia's Ed Cowan suffered the ignominy of being dismissed twice in one ball by South Africa's Jacques Kallis - but how do the Laws decide what goe... Read more

Law or Playing Condition?

When we watch or listen to matches on the television or radio, there are often events that prompt the commentators to ask where such an eventuality is... Read more

The forgotten no ball

Graeme Cremer was denied the key scalp of Mahela Jayawardene in Zimbabwe's match against Sri Lanka at the ICC World Twenty20 due to a rare beast - the... Read more

Kartik incident - some clarifications

In response to Murali Kartik's run out of Somerset's Alex Barrow in Taunton, Lords.org clarifies some confusion around warnings, Laws and playing cond... Read more

Finn and Smith - what the Laws say

Steven Finn was denied Graeme Smith's wicket when Umpire Steve Davis signalled dead ball after the bowler disturbed the stumps at the non-striker's en... Read more

The no-ball knowledge

Andrew Flintoff may have taken a wicket at Lord’s with his front foot suspiciously close to the popping crease but it is Australia’s spinners who have... Read more
  • Archive
Back to Top
Google+