Bookmark and Share

MCC team change for Champion County match

  • Durham seamer Chris Rushworth joins MCC team in place of injured Alan Richardson
  • Live ball-by-ball commentary of the match available online

MCC has announced one change to its team to take on Warwickshire CCC in the annual Champion County match, which starts at the Zayed International Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi this Sunday (24th March).  Worcestershire opening bowler Alan Richardson has withdrawn from the squad through injury, and will be replaced by Chris Rushworth from Durham.  Richardson will now concentrate on regaining fitness in time for the start of the domestic season.

John Stephenson, MCC Head of Cricket and Manager of the MCC team to face Warwickshire, said:

“It is a shame that Alan has had to pull out of the Champion County match, he performed well for the Club in the same fixture last year, and I know he was looking forward to kick-starting his 2013 season in a similar fashion.  I am however delighted to welcome Chris into the squad.  I have heard really good things about him, and I am sure he will be a positive addition to our squad.”

“Following the Club’s involvement in the Emirates Airline T20 tournament over the last couple of days, the competitive juices are flowing and all of the MCC players are now keen to get back out onto the field and play some challenging four day cricket.  I am confident that day-night First-Class cricket can work, and this match will add to our ongoing research on this format.”       

Cricket fans across the world can follow the Champion County match online, courtesy of BBC Warwickshire and Coventry, which will provide live ball-by-ball commentary.  The hours of play will be 14.30 – 21.30 (local time).  Further interviews with the players, session reports, and close of play reaction pieces will also be available to view on the Lord’s website throughout the match (

- Ends -


Notes to editors:

The MCC Champion County team is:

Dale Benkenstein (captain) (South Africa and Durham)

Jimmy Adams (Hampshire)

Joe Denly (England and Middlesex)

Ned Eckersley (Leicestershire)

Simon Kerrigan (Lancashire)

Steve Kirby (Somerset)

Dawid Malan (Middlesex)

James Middlebrook (Northamptonshire)

Sam Northeast (Kent)

Chris Rushworth (Durham)

Peter Trego (Somerset)


BBC Warwickshire and Coventry’s ball-by-ball commentary will be available to listen to live via the BBC and Lord’s websites.


For further information on this story please contact:

Beth Wild

MCC Media & Public Affairs Officer

Lord's Cricket Ground

Direct Line: 020 7616 8699

Mobile: 07929348074


Share this page

Back to Top