Bookmark and Share

Somerset eyeing another final

Somerset have defied expectations to reach the last four of the Nokia Champions League Twenty20 2011.

The West Country side were given little hope of reaching the main group stage of the tournament, let alone the last four, prior to the competition.

They flew to India just two days after losing their second consecutive CB40 Final - and fifth major domestic final in three years - against Surrey at Lord’s.

Middle-order batsman Nick Compton, who is blogging for from India, has written of his delight as his team have progressed in the competition.


Auckland were the first victims for a resurgent Somerset, before IPL giants Kolkota Knight Riders were beaten by 11 runs in the qualifying competition to confirm their advance to the tournament proper.

Another win over KKR got the ball rolling for Alfonso Thomas’ side and after a Chris Gayle inspired hiccup against Royal Challengers Bangalore, they secured a last four spot against South African side Warriors.

Compton’s blogs have traced the mood within the Somerset camp over the last two weeks, which has swung from ‘depleted, dejected and down,’ to ecstatic.

They are now just one match away from another final - though they will enter their clash against the star studded Mumbai Indians as the heavy underdogs.

England internationals Craig Kieswetter and Jos Buttler are with the squad following the close of the international summer and Somerset appear ready for another crack at a trophy.


Somerset are not the only England based Club flying the flag in India.

MCC is combining with the CLT20 to promote the Spirit of Cricket campaign throughout this tournament.

MCC’s Head of Cricket, John Stephenson, attended the opening ceremony of the competition to oversee the signing of the ‘Captain’s Charter’, which serves to ensure the ten participating teams uphold the Spirit of Cricket's ‘Play Hard, Play Fair’ principles.

It is the third successive year where MCC has partnered the competition. The Club also partners the Indian Premier League.

Share this page

Back to Top