Bookmark and Share

Tait called up to MCC T20 squad

Australia fast bowler Shaun Tait has joined MCC’s squad for the Emirates Airline Twenty20 in Dubai on March 23.

Tait, widely regarded as the fastest bowler in world cricket, will play alongside his Rajasthan Royals captain Rahul Dravid as they prepare for this season’s IPL.

The 29-year-old last bowled in the Australian Big Bash League for Melbourne Renegades in early January and is keen to get some overs under his belt after suffering recent injury problems.

Tait wowed Lord’s in 2010 when he became the first man to have a 100mph delivery recorded at the Home of Cricket, in a ODI against England. He again passed the 100mph mark in a T20 against Pakistan in 2010.

Since competing in the ICC World Cup in 2011 he has concentrated solely on the T20 format, and will be captain Dravid’s spearhead in the Royals' attack. He also competed in a tournament in Zimbabwe in late 2011.

International flavour
MCC’s squad for the Emirates Airline T20, where they compete against Durham, Champion County opponents Lancashire, Sussex and a UAE team, now has a distinctly international feel with players from six nations representing the Club.

In addition to Dravid and Tait, former India captain Sourav Ganguly will play for the side for a second year running, with Pakistan’s Rana Naved and Ireland’s Niall O’Brien also included.

New Zealand international Hamish Marshall will join the squad for the Champion County fixture.

The Emirates Airline T20 takes place at 7he Sevens Stadium, Dubai with the four-day Champion County match following in Abu Dhabi from March 27.

MCC squad

Mark Ramprakash (Capt)
England & Surrey
Moeen Ali
England Lions & Worcestershire
Gareth Batty
England & Surrey
Ian Blackwell (four-day only)
England & Durham
Rahul Dravid (T20 only)
Sourav Ganguly (T20 only)
Lewis Gregory
England u-19s & Somerset
Hamish Marshall (four-day only)
New Zealand & Gloucestershire
Rana Naveed (four-day only)
Pakistan & Derbyshire
Niall O'Brien
Ireland & Northamptonshire
Stephen Peters
Gareth Rees
Alan Richardson
Shaun Tait (T20 only)

Share this page

Back to Top