Bookmark and Share

Village teams prepare for Lord's final

Lord’s will host two first-time finalists when the Persimmon National Village Cup reaches the Home of Cricket on Sunday 4 September.

Rottingdean of East Sussex and Woodhouses, the boyhood club of ex-England captain Mike Atherton, from Lancashire will battle it out to claim their first title.

The Lord's final always generates a fantastic, party atmosphere with tickets for the match priced at £5 for under 16s and over 65s and £10 for adults.

Additionally is providing a free ball-by-ball live commentary (opens in a new window) of the entire final, which can be streamed online.

Season highlight

Woodhouses knocked out Yorkshire rivals and defending champions Sessay in the semi-final while Rottingdean became the third side from Sussex to reach the final in the last five years by beating Dumbleton.

MCC Head of Cricket John Stephenson expressed his delight that MCC are once again hosting the final.

“The Village Cup Final is always a real highlight in the Lord’s fixture list and I am sure that this year will be no exception.” said the former England cricketer.

“Congratulations to both Rottingdean and Woodhouses on making it through to the Final – with the standard improving year after year this is a fantastic achievement for both clubs.

“I very much look forward to welcoming all the players and the supporters to Lord’s for the day – there is no better place in the world to play and watch cricket.”

Unique competition
The Village Cup final has been organised by The Cricketer magazine (opens in a new window) – in its various guises – since 1972, crowning the finest village side in Britain.

The first winners were Troon Cricket Club, who defeated Astwood Bank Cricket Club by seven wickets in the final.

A village is defined as a settlement of less than 5,000 people which is completely surrounded by open countryside.

It is an entirely amateur competition, which does not allow players who have played more than one first-class match, unless they are older than 60.

In 2011, 286 sides entered the tournament.

Rottingdean Woodhouses
Henry Ledden
 Mike Cassidy
Najmus Jamil
 Nick Doyle
Oscar Howie
 Josh Tolley
George Ledden
 Luke Swards
Mark Grantham
 James Clarke
Simon Clarke
 Nick Hardman
Sam Shepherd
 Dougie Sloan
Mark Smith
 Gareth Tuson
James Yates
 Ryan Sloan
Alex Potter
 Callum Megram
Tim Bickmore
 Ashley Prescott
Chris Osborne (12th man)
 Danny Keogh (12th man)

Share this page

Back to Top

About cookies - This site uses cookies to improve your site experience as set out in our Cookie Policy.