About The Honours Boards

The legends of Lord's

Every cricketer has a great incentive to excel at Lord's.

As well as thrilling the crowd and performing well for their country, he or she can earn themself a lasting place in the history of 'headquarters' - alongside some of the greatest players ever to have appeared at the Ground. 

By scoring a century, taking five wickets in an innings or ten wickets in a match, a player ensures that their name is added to one of the famous Honours Boards in the Pavilion.

These boards, in the 'home' and 'away' dressing rooms, provide a permanent reminder of the best batting and bowling performances in the long history of Lord's.

The board in the 'home' dressing room records the feats of great batsmen including Jack Hobbs and Les Graham Gooch, and the achievements of equally outstanding bowlers like Fred Trueman and James Anderson.

Great all-rounders - 'Gubby' Allen, Ian Botham and Andrew Flintoff - have the distinction of appearing on both of these boards. 

The visitors' dressing room board shows the achievements of remarkable batsmen like Victor Trumper and Viv Richards, great bowlers including Bishen Bedi and Waqar Younis and equally distinguished all-rounders - such as Keith Miller and Sir Garry Sobers.

2019 Updates

In February 2019, the Honours Boards were overhauled as part of a wider refurishment of the Home and Away dressing rooms.

One of the most significant changes in terms of milestones and achievements is that centuries and five-wicket hauls at Lord’s in Limited Overs Internationals, in both men’s and women’s matches, are now recognised within the dressing rooms right next to feats from Test matches.

This new addition means that some of the names who didn’t make it on to the Honours Board during their Test Match careers, such as Michael Atherton, Ricky Ponting and Muttiah Muralitharan, are now officially immortalised above the doors leading out to the players’ balconies in the famous Lord’s Pavilion.

The addition also includes performances in women’s internationals at Lord’s, with Anya Shrubsole’s figures of 6 for 46 now adorning the wall after a famed England victory over India in 2017 to win the ICC Women’s World Cup.

Lisa Keightley, of Australia, and England’s Claire Taylor, Sarah Taylor and Caroline Atkins are the first women’s players to see their names recognised for ODI centuries, whilst Australia’s Cathryn Fitzpatrick and England’s Katherine Brunt join Shrubsole in being celebrated for five-wicket hauls.


View Now