Compton and Edrich Stands
This new exhibition explores the lives of Denis Compton and Bill Edrich, and why their achievements were of such significance that MCC named two stands after them.
The exhibition begins with the original G and H stands, and how the Ground was then developed with the building of the original Compton and Edrich stands to the opening of the new stands in 2021.
A timeline of Compton and Edrich’s lives highlights the glorious summer of 1947 and both men’s cricket and football achievements, wartime activity and off-field misdemeanours. Visitors can view archive photos and correspondence to, from and about the two cricketers, including an example of Compton’s modelling career as one of the original Brylcreem boys and letters of complaint from MCC Members relating to this commercial venture.
Also featured are original scorebooks, cigarette cards, postcards and the Wisden Cricketers’ Almanacks from 1939 and 1940 when Compton and Edrich were one of the five Wisden Cricketers of the Year. As well as the usual bats and pads there are commemorative ceramics and jigsaw puzzles. The Arsenal Museum have kindly loaned MCC a number of items relating to the football career of Denis Compton.
Architects’ models, time lapse video and photos show the development of the new stands.