Back to News & stories

Wreford Set to take office as MCC President

Posted: 1 October 2018

Anthony Wreford is set to assume office as the new President of Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC).

The businessman and cricket administrator was nominated by outgoing President, Lord MacLaurin of Knebworth, and announced at the MCC Annual General Meeting on Wednesday 2nd May 2018.

Wreford, who will hold office from 1st October 2018 until 30th September 2019, has a long association with MCC, having become a Member of the Club in 1971. He joined the General Purposes sub-committee in 1993, before a three-year term on the Main Committee from 1997, and he continued to serve in his capacity as Chairman of the Marketing sub-committee for a further eight years.

With the then President Colin Ingleby-Mackenzie, Wreford led the Committee’s drive for women to become eligible for MCC membership, which was successfully achieved in 1998.

He was Non-Executive Chairman of the Professional Cricketers’ Association from 2009-14 and after setting up his own communications agency, McAvoy Wreford, he worked for the American marketing and communications group Omnicom for over two decades in various roles.

His current diverse business portfolio includes roles in private equity, asset management and market research.Anthony Wreford MCC PresidentThere have also been changes to the MCC Committee, with Mike Brearley, Claire Taylor, Mark Nicholas and Simon Hughes beginning three-year terms on 1st October, replacing Peter Carroll, Chinmay Gupte, Chris Guyver and Graham Monkhouse, whose terms concluded on 30th September.

Former England captain Brearley was President of MCC in 2007-08 and until recently chaired the MCC World Cricket committee, a post he held for six years.

Taylor, one of the most distinguished women’s cricketers, served on the Club’s Cricket committee from 2012 until 2018, whilst she also chaired the Women’s Cricket sub-committee.

Broadcaster and former Hampshire captain Nicholas has served twice before on the main Committee, between 1996-99 and 2000-03, as well as stints on the Cricket and Marketing committees and Laws, Spirit and Ethos sub-committee.

Hughes, formerly of Middlesex and Durham, now a commentator, author and journalist on the game, has been re-elected after a twelve month gap, having previously served on the Committee between 2014-17.

Latest news