Come here to find all the information you need to help you plan your visit to the Home of Cricket, the latest news from the Ground and to book your event.
We’ve got a wide variety of formats covered with an exciting line up of matches to get your cricket fix.
Whether you like red or white ball, domestic or international, or men’s or women’s cricket, Lord’s will have the perfect cricket experience for you, your family and friends.
Marylebone Cricket Club is the world’s most active cricket club, the owner of Lord’s Ground and the guardian of the Laws of the game. Find out more about the history of MCC, our work in the Community and the famous Lord's Museum.
FIND OUT MORE
Step closer. Your new digital platform at the Home of Cricket.
Subscribe now for early access to selected international matches, exclusive content, coaching masterclasses and many more discounts and offers.
Your access to Lord's like never before.
Marylebone Cricket Club is one of the World's most active Cricket Clubs, the owner of Lord's Ground and the Guardian of the Laws and Spirit of the Game.
With around 200 full time staff members covering a wide range of sectors - from IT to Chefs to Pavilion Stewards - there is a role at the Home of Cricket for everyone.
Our Lord's Shops have a wide range of clothing, headwear and gifts and souvenirs available, so you can own your own piece of memorabilia from Home of Cricket.
Posted: 25 January 2023
Dar backed away from the delivery, which hit the stumps. However, Dead ball was called by the umpire, leading to some confusion on commentary and social media. However, it is clear that the umpire made the correct decision.
Nida Dar pulled out of her stance very, very late here 🤔#AUSvPAK pic.twitter.com/xYypM0aWef
— 7Cricket (@7Cricket) January 21, 2023
The Law in question here is Law 20.4.2.5, which states that either umpire should call and signal Dead ball when ‘the striker is not ready for the delivery of the ball and, if the ball is delivered, makes no attempt to play it.’
Clearly Dar, who only looked up as McGrath was well into her delivery action, did not make an attempt to play the ball, and thus is protected by this Law. The moment when the batter pulled out is not relevant – as long as the umpire is satisfied that the striker was not ready for the delivery, it does not matter that her actual step away was after the ball had been delivered.
It is worth noting that a batter cannot simply determine that the delivery was too good for them, and back away. If the umpire believes they were ready to face, and then backed away, they are not protected by this Law (they may be protected by Law 20.4.2.6 if they are distracted, but that is a different matter).
However, the video clearly shows, in this case, that Dar was looking down as McGrath entered her delivery stride, and only looked up for the first time as the ball was being delivered. This is clearly a case of a batter who was not ready.