Bookmark and Share

Photo of the Year

The Wisden – MCC Cricket Photograph of the Year competition was launched in 2010.

It is open to all photographers – amateur and professional – from across the world with the only stipulations that entries must have been taken during the year of the competition and in some respect have a cricket theme.

The winner and two runners-up are featured in the colour photo section of the Wisden Cricketers' Almanack, and since 2012 the eleven shortlisted photos have been displayed at Lord's during the following season.

If you would like to receive info on how to enter the Wisden-MCC Cricket Photo of the Year competition when it reopens for entries in October,2018 please contact us here.

2017 competition

Stu Forster of Getty Images took the winning photo of the 2017 competition which was a shot of Katherine Brunt taking a selfie with the rest of the England side, having defeated India in thrilling fashion in the 2017 Women's Cricket World Cup Final at Lord's.

He was deemed by the judges to be the best cricket photograph of 2017. taken on a historic day for the women's game.

Forster's shot and the selected runners-up/shortlisted photos can be seen below. 

Past Winners

The winner of the 2016 competition was announced on Sunday 3 April 2017 as Saqib Majeed, for his image of a boys’ cricket game in the Mughal gardens of Srinagar.

The winner of the 2015 competition was announced on Friday 8 April 2016 as Robert Cianfone, for his image of Craig Simmons breaking his bat during the Big Bash League.

The winner of the 2014 competition was announced on Wednesday 8 April 2015 as Matthew Lewis, for his image of West Indies' Dwayne Bravo taking a superb diving catch.

The winner of the 2013 competition was announced on Wednesday 9 April 2014 as Atul Kamble, for his stunning image of Sachin Tendulkar before the Indian legend's final Test innings.

Share this page

Back to Top

About cookies - This site uses cookies to improve your site experience as set out in our Cookie Policy.