Match Day Centre Pakistan lead England by 116 runs with 5 wickets remaining

Bookmark and Share

Finn wins CWC Young Player of the Year

Middlesex and England bowler - and columnist - Steve Finn has won the Cricket Writers Club (CWC) Young Player of the Year award.

Fast bowler Finn has had a whirlwind season, starting the year in the England Lions squad and ending it with eight Test caps, 32 Test wickets and a place on the Honours Boards at both Lord's and Old Trafford - with The Ashes series yet to come.

It has been quite a journey for the 6'8" seamer. Back in March he was called in to the England squad touring Bangladesh, initially as cover for the injured Ryan Sidebottom, Graham Onions and Stuart Broad.

Just days after his arrival in Chittagong Finn made his Test debut after England coach Andy Flower described his warm-up and practice performances as "impressive".

Finn took two wickets on his debut and has not looked back since - as he helped England complete a series whitewash in Bangladesh.

Honours Boards

Back in England the amiable seamer made his home debut at his 'home' ground, Lord's.

He took 5-87 in the second innings to earn a place on the Lord's Honours Boards for his five-for. With match figures of 9-187 he almost made it a staggering ten-for.

Later that summer he took 5-42 at Old Trafford as England, once again, won every Test against the improving Bangladesh.

Against Pakistan Finn continued to take wickets: 5-78 at Trent Bridge; 3-67 at Edgbaston and 4-61 at Lord's as England won the series 3-1.

Only the defeat at The Oval showed a rare blip in Finn's otherwise unerringly consistent form.

The Cricket Writers Award adds to an already exceptional season for the 21-year-old - one he hopes to cap by helping England retain The Ashes in Australia.

Illustrious company

Finn joins illustrious company in winning the award.

Previous winners include: Fred Trueman (in 1952); Geoffrey Boycott (1963); Derek Underwood (1966); Ian Botham (1977); Michael Atherton (1990); & Andrew Flintoff (1998).

Current England team-mates James Anderson (2003); Ian Bell (2004); Alastair Cook (2005) & Stuart Broad (2006) have also won the award.

The award, a silver Treasury instand was made in the 1870s and first presented at the 1998 Dinner. It
is on display in the MCC Museum at Lord's.

Share this page

Back to Top