Bookmark and Share

Gilchrist wins Walter Lawrence Trophy

Middlesex's Friends Provident Twenty20 Cup star Adam Gilchrist is the 2010 winner of the Walter Lawrence Trophy.

The trophy is awarded annually for the fastest century made in international and county competitions in the UK.

Cardiff/Glamorgan MCC Universities batsman Rory Burns won the Walter Lawrence Trophy Award for the highest score in an innings by an MCCU batsman.

Gilchrist still going strong

Former Australia wicketkeeper-batsman, Gilchrist, smashed a 47-ball ton, including nine fours and seven sixes, in a group fixture against Kent at Canterbury.

He was awarded the trophy, alongside a £5,000 prize, by former MCC President John Barclay.

With the help of MCC, Gilchrist joined Middlesex, alongside countryman and big hitting specialist Dave Warner for the 2010 FPt20 Cup campaign. Gilchrist scored 212 runs at an average of 30.28 from seven innings.

The 38-year-old, who retired from international cricket following the 2007-08 Ashes series, played 96 Tests and 287 One Day Internationals for his country.

He becomes the third Middlesex player to win the trophy in its 76-year history, following in the footsteps of MCC Committee member Mike Gatting who won it in 1984 and Roland Butcher in 1987.

Burns making a mark

Epsom-born Burns is the highest scoring winner in the award's history. He has played for Surrey’s second XI is the second Cardiff/Glamorgan MCCU player to collect the medallion.

The opening-batsman racked up a mammoth 230 runs, from 345 balls, against Oxford MCCU at The Parks on April 27 and is the seventh student to be presented with the award.

The 20-year-old left-hander will be presented with a silver medallion and the £1,000 prize at the traditional end-of-season dinner in the Lord’s Long Room on 19 October.

Share this page

Back to Top

About cookies - This site uses cookies to improve your site experience as set out in our Cookie Policy.