Bookmark and Share

MCC Committee election results

MCC Committee election results

MCC has today published the results of its annual election to its Main Committee.

The successful four are Nick Pocock and Peter Leaver – who will serve on the Committee for the fourth and third time respectively – and Vicky Griffiths and Isabelle Duncan, who are both new additions at Main Committee level. They will take up their three-year positions on 1st October 2013.

A total of 4,593 ballot papers were submitted, including 51 spoilt papers. The votes cast were as follows:

Name Votes Result
Nick Pocock 3,451 Elected
Peter Leaver, QC 3,181 Elected
Vicky Griffiths 3,108 Elected
Isabelle Duncan 2,672 Elected
Peter Carroll 2.430 Not elected
Guy Curry 2,112 Not elected

Mike Griffith, MCC President, said: "The membership has voted for an excellent blend of youth and experience.

"Nick, Peter, Vicky and Isabelle have diverse professional backgrounds but are united by their love of the game, and will be great assets to the Committee."

Simon Dyson, David Faber, Mike Gatting and Tim O’Gorman will retire as Elected Members on 30th September 2013.

The twenty-strong MCC Committee comprises: the President, the Club Chairman, the Treasurer, the chairmen of the principal committees and twelve Elected Members.

It also includes the President Designate whose name is announced at the Club’s AGM, which falls on 1 May this year. In addition, three Trustees are entitled to attend and speak at meetings of the MCC Committee but are not entitled to vote.

  •     Nick Pocock is a former captain and president of Hampshire CCC. He played for the county from 1976 to 1984 – as captain from 1980 to 1984 – and was elected as an MCC Member in 1982. This will be his fourth stint on the MCC Committee – a period of service stretching back to 1987 – and he has also sat on the Club’s Cricket committee twice. He is an insurance broker.

  •     Peter Leaver, QC is the Chairman of MCC’s Incorporation and Structure Working Party – the body which recently submitted the Club’s successful petition to be incorporated by Royal Charter. A former Chief Executive of the Premier League, he is a member of the Court of Arbitration for Sport, and has been has been a Deputy High Court judge since 1994. He currently sits on MCC’s Estates committee, and has served on the MCC Committee twice previously. He was elected to the Club in 1969.

  •     Vicky Griffiths won blues at both hockey and cricket at Oxford University – going on to represent England under-21s at the former. She is a Playing Member elected in 2002, and has served on MCC’s Finance committee since 2010. She works in asset management.

  •     Isabelle Duncan is a Playing Member elected in 2002, and sits on MCC’s Membership and General Purposes committee as well as the Endorsing sub-committee. She is an ECB Level 2 coach and sits on Chance to Shine’s "Girls on the Front Foot" committee which raises funds for the charity’s work with girls.

Share this page

Back to Top