The MCC Museum has unveiled a new exhibition documenting the development of the new Warner Stand at Lord’s, and paying tribute to Sir Pelham Warner himself.
The exhibition is the first in a series of displays which will document MCC’s redevelopment of Lord’s, which is due to continue over the next 20 years.
Work began on the new Warner Stand at the end of the 2015 season, and the new structure will be completed in time for the start of the 2017 season.
It includes vastly improved sight lines for spectators, a new match control suite for officials and a state-of-the-art, and a photovoltaic roof which ensures that spectators will benefit from both shade and natural light. Solar thermal panels in the roof will also generate hot water and electricity.
The exhibition features models of the new stand as well displays, photographs, plans and memorabilia relating to the original Warner Stand which was erected in 1958 and demolished in 2015.
It also pays tribute to the career of Sir Pelham Warner – the first person after whom a stand at Lord’s was named.
Warner captained MCC on its first overseas and later served the Club as a Committee Member, Deputy Secretary, Trustee, and President. He became its first Life Vice-President in 1961.
Adam Chadwick, MCC Museum Curator, said: “This is a very exciting exhibition and gives visitors an insight into the chronology of the Warner Stand, including the impressive new structure that will be finished in time for the new season.
"There are also some fascinating items on display from Sir Pelham Warner himself, all of which makes for an engaging exhibition for any cricket fan.”
The exhibition will be on display until Autumn 2018 can be visited as part of a Lord’s Tour or free of charge on all major match days to those with a match ticket.