London Spirit confirm squads for Lord's stint

Posted: 23 February 2021

The latest additions to the London Spirit squad for the inaugural season of The Hundred have been unveiled after the teams selected their final men’s picks in The Hundred Draft - whilst further world class women’s signings have also been announced.

With two spaces to fill in the men’s squad, Sussex all-rounder Ravi Bopara was the first player picked for London Spirit in the draft and joining him is Hampshire bowler Chris Wood.

Men’s team Head Coach Shane Warne adds the pair to the existing squad which includes the likes of Eoin Morgan, Mark Wood and Glenn Maxwell.

England opener and 2017 Cricket World Cup winner Tammy Beaumont has been added to the London Spirit women’s squad, as Head Coach Trevor Griffin continues to shape his group.

Beaumont joins England captain Heather Knight and West Indian all-rounder Deandra Dottin, who have been retained from last year’s squad.

Players are being signed on an individual basis by the eight teams in the women’s competition, rather than on a draft basis. Teams will continue to fill their squads over the coming months. 

London Spirit, based at Lord’s, will face seven other teams in the competition when it begins in July 2021. As well as offering world-class cricket, The Hundred aims to open the game up to more families and young people by fusing action-packed, fast-paced cricket with blockbuster entertainment off the pitch.

The fixtures, published earlier today, will see London Spirit welcoming Oval Invincibles on Sunday 25 July in their first match at the Home of Cricket.

In a sporting first, the competition will launch with a women’s fixture as the headline act, with Oval Invincibles taking on Manchester Originals at The Kia Oval on Wednesday 21 July in a match televised live on Sky and BBC. The men’s sides following suit the next day.

Aside from the standalone opening women’s and men’s games, each day of the competition will feature a men’s and women’s match, played at the same venue, with tickets allowing supporters to watch both matches.

All men’s and women’s games will be broadcast live on Sky. The Hundred will also be covered extensively across the BBC, including live television coverage of ten men’s games and up to eight live women’s matches, including the finals for the women’s and men’s competitions, both of which will take place at Lord’s on 21 August.

"Lord’s is a special place to play, and full of great memories for me"

Former Essex all-rounder Bopara said: “I really hoped I’d get picked up and I couldn't be happier to be drafted by London Spirit. I was born in Forest Gate, so it’s great to come home. The squad is really strong, and I can't wait to play with the likes of Eoin Morgan and Glenn Maxwell.”

London Spirit Men’s Head Coach Warne said: “I have always wanted Ravi (Bopara) on our team, and after missing out on him to Birmingham Phoenix last year we knew we had to get in there quick. He is a brilliant cricketer and will bring a lot of experience to the team, along with Chris Wood.

Beaumont said: “I’m made up to be staying at London Spirit. Lord’s is a special place to play, and full of great memories for me. We’ve got a really strong squad with Heather Knight and Deandra Dottin and I think we can have a great first season. I’m excited about what The Hundred can do to inspire more women and girls to take up cricket.

London Spirit Women’s Head Coach Griffin said: “Tammy (Beaumont) will bring incredible experience and leadership to our ranks, and in pressure situations there are very few better players. We have a great team with an excellent mix of skills and personalities; we’re ready to go.

Confirmed London Spirit Squads:

Men's side: Eoin Morgan, Mohammad Amir, Ravi Bopara, Mason Crane, Zak Crawley, Joe Denly, Jade Dernbach, Dan Lawrence, Glen Maxwell, Mohammad Nabi, Luis Reece, Adam Rossington, Roelof Van Der Merwe, Chris Wood, Mark Wood

Women's side: Heather Knight, Tammy Beaumont, Amara Carr, Aylish Cranstone, Naomi Dattani, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Deandra Dottin, Danielle Gibson, Hannah Jones, Sophie Munro, Susie Rowe, Chloe Tryon


Latest news