Back to News & stories

New MCC Committee elected with more women now included

Posted: 6 March 2019

It was announced today that Vicky Griffiths, Chinmay Gupte, Nick Gandon and Will House have been elected to serve on the MCC Committee from 1st October 2019.

The result follows the successful introduction of online voting, with 2,355 of the 6,314 Full and Senior Members who participated in the election choosing to cast their votes digitally.

Griffiths returns to the Main Committee, having previously served from 2013-16. Head of Board Practice at Leathwaite, she has been a member of the Club’s Finance committee since 2010. As well as playing cricket for MCC (she has been a Member since 2002), she represented Oxford University, for whom she also achieved three Hockey Blues). With Griffiths returning, the Main Committee will now include three women, the highest in the Club’s history.

An orthopaedic surgeon, Gupte is a former Oxford Blue with 54 first-class caps. Elected as a Member in 1995, he has been on seven MCC Tours. He has seven years’ experience on the Main Committee and has served on the Club’s Cricket, Membership and General Purposes committees and the Laws sub-committee.

Gandon joins the Main Committee for the first time. A Member for 27 years, he made eight first-class appearances for Oxford University and also played minor counties cricket for Hertfordshire and Lincolnshire. As Director of the Cricket Foundation from 2003-09, he devised and implemented the Chance to Shine programme and has extensive experience within the third sector.

Completing the quartet, House is a former Cambridge Blue who played 37 first-class matches for Kent and Sussex, before embarking on a career in executive recruitment. House has served on MCC’s Cricket committee since 2012. He has represented MCC as a player, match manager and tourist for the past two decades.


Mrs. V.K. Griffiths, 4,043 votes – Elected
Dr. C.M. Gupte, 2,858 votes – Elected
N.J.C. Gandon, 2,633 votes – Elected
W.J. House, 2,600 votes – Elected

A.J. Alt, 2,562 votes
G.T.E. Monkhouse, 1,846 votes
S.P. Henderson, 1,807 votes
D.P. Natali, 1,706 votes
J.D.H. Griffiths, 1,584 votes
C.F.E. Goldie, 1,333 votes

The four newly-elected members will begin their three-year terms on 1st October 2019, replacing Angus Fraser, Robert Griffiths, Hugo Loudon and Nigel Peters, whose terms will conclude on 30th September.

MCC Club Chairman, Gerald Corbett, said ““This year’s MCC Committee election has been a first in a number of ways, from the introduction of online voting to now having more women on the Main Committee than ever before.

“We still have a long way to go, but we are making excellent steps in the right direction to make us a more inclusive and open Club. We look forward to welcoming all our new Committee members who will bring a wealth of experience and diversity to MCC.”

Latest news