Back to News & stories

Spirit of Cricket Award 2022

Posted: 1 December 2022

Have you seen a moment that typifies the Spirit of Cricket in 2022? Why not nominate it for the Christopher Martin-Jenkins Spirit of Cricket Award?

Each year, the award is given to a player, or group of players, that have epitomised the principles of playing hard but fair, and in the spirit of the game.

The award was created in 2013 by MCC and the BBC in memory of the former MCC President and Test Match Special Commentator Christopher Martin-Jenkins, who was passionate about promoting the spirit of the game. Past winners include former New Zealand men’s captain Brendon McCullum, England women’s bowler Anya Shrubsole, Dan Bowser and Chris Edwards of the England Learning Disability team, and Cricket West Indies.

This year, for the first time, we are opening the award up to nominations from around the world. It could be for the reaction shown by a player in a moment of high tension, or the way they interact with their opponent at the end of play. It could be a moment from the international arena, or at the lowest level of recreational level.

All nominations are welcome from any level of the game. The only stipulation is that it must have taken place in 2022.

If you would like to nominate, let us know the name of the player or group of players who you wish to propose, write a short description of what they did to earn that nomination and, if you have one, attach a video of the occurrence or a link to where the video is hosted online (Twitter, YouTube, Vimeo, etc.)

If the nominee is under the age of 18, you must have obtained the consent of the nominee’s parent or legal guardian to allow their personal information to be provided to MCC for the purpose of your nomination. In addition, the parent or legal guardian must have read and accepted MCC’s Privacy Notice:

Data Protection Statement

In accordance with its Privacy Notice, MCC will hold and process yours and the nominee’s personal information for the purposes of processing and administering the Spirt of Cricket Award 2022. 

MCC will keep a copy of the nomination form and any supporting documentation provided by you for no longer than is necessary to administer and facilitate the Award.   

MCC will ensure that all personal information is kept secure and safe. You are entitled to receive a copy of your personal information held by MCC on request and to correct any inaccuracies in it. Please see MCC’s Privacy Notice: for more information.

Submit your nomination

Nominations will close at midnight (GMT) on 31 December and our judging panel will determine a winner in early 2023, with the winner announced shortly after.

Please use our form below to submit your nomination.

Please confirm acceptance of the Terms & Conditions here and the Data Protection Statement together with confirmation of your consent for MCC to collect and process the personal information by ticking the boxes below.

Should you have any issues with submitting the nomination form, please contact

Is the nominee 18 years or older?