Bookmark and Share

Law 2 changes - Substitutes and runners

Law 2

Changes | Reason for change | Interpretation & Application


Changes to the Law are in italics

Law 2.8.    Transgression of the Laws by a batsman who has a runner

(a)    A batsman’s runner is subject to the Laws.  He will be regarded as a batsman except where there are special provisions for his role as a runner.  See 7 above and Law 29.2 (Which is a batsman’s ground).

(b)    A batsman who has a runner will suffer the penalty for any infringement of the Laws by his runner as if he had been himself responsible for the infringement. In particular he will be out if his runner is out under either of Laws 37 (Obstructing the field) or 38 (Run out).

(c)    When a batsman who has a runner is striker he remains himself subject to the Laws and will be liable to the penalties that any infringement of them demands.  In the case of Run out and Stumped, however, special provisions, set out in (d) and (e) below, apply to him as a striker who has a runner.

(d)    If a striker who has a runner is out of his ground when the wicket at the wicket-keeper’s end is fairly put down by the action of a fielder, otherwise than in (e) below, then, notwithstanding (b) above and irrespective of the position of the non-striker and the runner, he will be out Run out.  However, Laws 38.2(a) and

38.2 (b) (ii) (Batsman not Run out) shall apply.

(e)    If a striker who has a runner is out of his ground when the wicket at the wicket-keeper’s end is fairly put down by the wicket-keeper, without the intervention of another fielder, and if both the following conditions are satisfied,
his runner is within his ground
he makes no movement towards the bowler’s end other than action in receiving and/or playing or playing at the ball,
he is    

(i)    Not out if No ball has been called.   

(ii)    Out Stumped if the delivery is not a No ball.  In this case, however, Law 39.3(a) (Not out Stumped) shall apply.
        If either of the two conditions is not satisfied, then he is out Run out.  Law 38.2(a) will apply.

(f)    If a striker who has a runner is himself dismissed as in either (d) or (e) above, runs completed by the runner and the other batsman before the wicket is put down shall be disallowed.  However, any runs for penalties awarded to either side shall stand. See Law 18.6 (Runs awarded for penalties).  The non-striker shall return to his original end.

(g)    When a batsman who has a runner is not the striker

(i)    he remains subject to Law 37 (Obstructing the field) but is otherwise out of the game.

(ii)    he shall stand where directed by the striker’s end umpire so as not to interfere with play.

(iii)    he will be liable, notwithstanding (i) above, to any penalty demanded by the Laws should he commit any act of unfair play.

Reason for change

Law 2.8 parts (b) and (g) cover an agreed clarification on when Handled the ball becomes Obstructing the field (see Laws 33 and 37 below), which affects numerous references throughout the Laws, which is the case here.

Law 2.8(e) covers the instance of an injured striker (with a runner) being "stumped" off a No ball.  Now, he should be afforded the same protection as a “normal” batsman, and not be penalised for, essentially, being injured.

Interpretation & application

The conditions for a striker who has a runner (informally referred to as an ‘injured striker’) to be out Stumped have been revised. 

Because an ‘injured striker’ has only one end – the wicket-keeper’s end –  he cannot ‘make good his ground from end to end’ and so cannot be considered to be attempting a run or, more significantly for stumping, not doing so. 

It is only when the putting down of the wicket is by the wicket-keeper alone that the question of stumping can arise.  Paragraph (e) is for this situation.  

Paragraph (d) is about the wicket being put down in any other way. 

In paragraph (d), nothing fundamental has changed.  It is still true in this case that if the ‘injured striker’ is out of his ground at this point, then he is out Run out irrespective of where the runner and non-striker are.  

In paragraph (e), where the wicket is put down solely by the wicket-keeper, there are two further conditions. 

The umpire must know whether, in addition to the ‘injured striker’, the runner is or is not within his ground. 

It is possible that he is not.  In addition, the umpire must judge whether any movement that the ‘injured striker’ makes towards the bowler’s end is solely in receiving or playing (or attempting to play) the ball. 

This is nearly the same as, for an ordinary batsman, distinguishing between merely playing (at) the ball and attempting a run. 

If both these conditions are satisfied (in addition to the wicket-keeper alone putting down the wicket), paragraph (e) sets out the outcomes for a No ball and not a No ball. 

If either condition is not satisfied (or both are not), the ‘injured striker’ will not be out Stumped, with the usual fall back that he may be out Run out.  This situation mirrors as closely as possible that for a normal batsman as set out in Laws 38 and 39, including the exceptions stated therein.

Striker cannot be out stumped off a No ball

  • A striker, regardless of whether or not he has a runner, cannot be stumped off a No ball.
  • In this same ‘stumped off a No ball’ scenario, the striker will not be out Run out if he is not attempting a run.

Share this page

Back to Top

About cookies - This site uses cookies to improve your site experience as set out in our Cookie Policy.