Bookmark and Share

Law 15 - Declaration and forfeiture

THE LAW

15.1 Time of declaration

The captain of the side batting may declare an innings closed, when the ball is dead, at any time during the innings.

15.2 Forfeiture of an innings

A captain may forfeit either of his/her side’s innings at any time before the commencement of that innings.  A forfeited innings shall be considered to be a completed innings.

15.3 Notification

A captain shall notify the opposing captain and the umpires of any decision to declare or to forfeit an innings.  Once notified, the decision cannot be changed.

© Marylebone Cricket Club 2017

Read more

ELearning

MCC Laws of Cricket: eLearning

Want to learn more? Why not take a look into MCC’s eLearning programme on the Laws of Cricket. Concentrating on the teaching of Laws knowledge, the programme is split into two parts. Firstly, the interactive module details the Laws in practice using photos, videos and animations to help explain what can be a complicated subject. Secondly, you can test yourself using a multiple-choice exam-based assessment, which can be taken as many times as you wish. 
You’ll need to be online using a tablet or desktop computer to access the system.

rectangle 62x

Launch eLearning

Back to Top