Law 32


Appeals and Dismissals Back to laws

32.1 Out Bowled

32.1.1 The striker is out Bowled if his/her wicket is fairly broken by a ball delivered by the bowler, not being a No ball, even if it first touches the striker’s bat or person.

32.1.2 However, the striker shall not be out Bowled if before striking the wicket the ball has been in contact with any other player or an umpire.  The striker will, however, be subject to Laws 37 (Obstructing the field), 38 (Run out) and 39 (Stumped).

32.2 Bowled to take precedence

The striker is out Bowled if his/her wicket is fairly broken as in 32.1, even though a decision against him/her for any other method of dismissal would be justified.

Want to learn more? Why not take a look into MCC’s eLearning programme on the Laws of Cricket. Concentrating on the teaching of Laws knowledge, the programme is split into two parts. Firstly, the interactive module details the Laws in practice using photos, videos and animations to help explain what can be a complicated subject. Secondly, you can test yourself using a multiple-choice exam-based assessment, which can be taken as many times as you wish. 
You’ll need to be online using a tablet or desktop computer to access the system.

Learn more