Back to News & stories

The Hundred inaugural finals day one of five double headers at Lord's

Posted: 23 February 2021

Fixtures for the inaugural edition of The Hundred have been announced today by the ECB, including confirmation that both the men’s and women’s finals will take place at Lord’s.

The Hundred will make history, being the first time a major UK team sporting event has launched men’s and women’s competitions alongside each other and headlined with a women’s match.

London Spirit – the Lord’s based teams – will play four matches at the Home of Cricket, with double-header matches taking place which sees both the men’s and women’s teams competing on the same day.

The Hundred will arrive at Lord’s for the first time on Sunday 25 July, as London Spirit welcome Oval Invincibles for the first ever local derby match between the two city rivals.

Trent Rockets are the visitors to Lord’s on Thursday 29 July, whilst Spirit will take on Southern Brave and the Northern Superchargers on Sunday 1 and Tuesday 3 August respectively.

The Hundred Fixtures at Lord's

Following the group stages of the competition, Lord’s will then later host both the men’s and women’s finals on the same day in a showpiece culmination of the tournament on Saturday 21 August.

The Hundred aims to make cricket more accessible to families and young people by fusing world-class, fast-paced cricket with family-friendly entertainment off the pitch. It features eight brand new teams based in Birmingham, Cardiff, Leeds, Manchester, Nottingham, Southampton and two in London.

The entire competition, including all men’s and women’s games will be broadcast live on Sky. The Hundred will also be covered extensively across the BBC, including live television coverage of ten men’s games and up to eight live women’s matches, including The Hundred Final and the women’s opening game.

London Spirit can boast both of England’s white-ball captains as their leaders in the competition – and the duo have both also lifted the ICC World Cup for their country at Lord’s. The men will be skippered by Eoin Morgan, with the women led by Heather Knight.

They will be able to include a plethora of international stars amongst their line-ups, including Mohammad Amir, Zak Crawley, Freya Davies, Joe Denly, Deandra Dottin, Dan Lawrence, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammad Nabi, Chloe Tryon and Mark Wood, amongst others.

Lord's Fixtures - All men's and women's doubleheaders

London Spirit v Oval Invincibles - Sunday 25 July
London Spirit v Trent Rockets - Thursday 29 July
London Spirit v Southern Brave - Sunday 1 August
London Spirit v Northern Superchargers - Tuesday 3 August
Men's and Women's Finals - Saturday 21 August

View All Fixtures

Latest news