Bookmark and Share

Law 29 - The Wicket is down

THE LAW

29.1 Wicket put down

29.1.1  The wicket is put down if a bail is completely removed from the top of the stumps, or a stump is struck out of the ground,

29.1.1.1 by the ball,

29.1.1.2 by the striker’s bat if held or by any part of the bat that he/she is holding,

29.1.1.3 for the purpose of this law only, by the striker's bat not in hand, or by any part of the bat which has become detached,

29.1.1.4 by the striker’s person or by any part of his/her clothing or equipment becoming detached from his/her person,

29.1.1.5 by a fielder with his/her hand or arm, providing that the ball is held in the hand or hands so used, or in the hand of the arm so used.

29.1.1.6 The wicket is also put down if a fielder strikes or pulls a stump out of the ground in the same manner.

29.1.2 The disturbance of a bail, whether temporary or not, shall not constitute its complete removal from the top of the stumps, but if a bail in falling lodges between two of the stumps this shall be regarded as complete removal.

29.2 One bail off

If one bail is off, it shall be sufficient for the purpose of putting the wicket down to remove the remaining bail or to strike or pull any of the three stumps out of the ground, in any of the ways stated in 29.1.

29.3 Remaking wicket

If a wicket is broken or put down while the ball is in play, it shall not be remade by an umpire until the ball is dead.  See Law 20 (Dead ball).  Any fielder may, however, while the ball is in play,

- replace a bail or bails on top of the stumps.

- put back one or more stumps into the ground where the wicket originally stood.

29.4 Dispensing with bails

If the umpires have agreed to dispense with bails in accordance with Law 8.5 (Dispensing with bails), it is for the umpire concerned to decide whether or not the wicket has been put down.

29.4.1 After a decision to play without bails, the wicket has been put down if the umpire concerned is satisfied that the wicket has been struck by the ball, by the striker’s bat, person or items of his/her clothing or equipment as described in 29.1.1.2, 29.1.1.3 or 29.1.1.4, or by a fielder in the manner described in 29.1.1.5.

29.4.2 If the wicket has already been broken or put down, 29.4.1 shall apply to any stump or stumps still in the ground.  Any fielder may replace a stump or stumps, in accordance with 29.3, in order to have an opportunity of putting the wicket down.

© Marylebone Cricket Club 2017

Read more

Animation

Listen to actor, broadcaster and writer Stephen Fry, a well known cricket enthusiast and occasional umpire, bring his authoritative voice to the narration of this animation of the law. 

ELearning

MCC Laws of Cricket: eLearning

Want to learn more? Why not take a look into MCC’s eLearning programme on the Laws of Cricket. Concentrating on the teaching of Laws knowledge, the programme is split into two parts. Firstly, the interactive module details the Laws in practice using photos, videos and animations to help explain what can be a complicated subject. Secondly, you can test yourself using a multiple-choice exam-based assessment, which can be taken as many times as you wish. 
You’ll need to be online using a tablet or desktop computer to access the system.

rectangle 62x

Launch eLearning

Back to Top