35.1 Out Hit wicket
35.1.1 The striker is out Hit wicket if, after the bowler has entered the delivery stride and while the ball is in play, his/her wicket is put down by either the striker’s bat or person as described in Laws 184.108.40.206 to 220.127.116.11 (Wicket put down) in any of the following circumstances:
18.104.22.168 in the course of any action taken by him/her in preparing to receive or in receiving a delivery,
22.214.171.124 in setting off for the first run immediately after playing or playing at the ball,
126.96.36.199 if no attempt is made to play the ball, in setting off for the first run, providing that in the opinion of the umpire this is immediately after the striker has had the opportunity of playing the ball,
188.8.131.52 in lawfully making a second or further stroke for the purpose of guarding his/her wicket within the provisions of Law 34.3 (Ball lawfully struck more than once).
35.1.2 If the striker puts his/her wicket down in any of the ways described in Laws 184.108.40.206 to 220.127.116.11 before the bowler has entered the delivery stride, either umpire shall call and signal Dead ball.
35.2 Not out Hit wicket
The striker is not out under this Law should his/her wicket be put down in any of the ways referred to in 35.1 if any of the following applies:
- it occurs after the striker has completed any action in receiving the delivery, other than in 18.104.22.168 to 22.214.171.124.
- it occurs when the striker is in the act of running, other than setting off immediately for the first run.
- it occurs when the striker is trying to avoid being run out or stumped.
- it occurs when the striker is trying to avoid a throw in at any time.
- the bowler after entering the delivery stride does not deliver the ball. In this case either umpire shall immediately call and signal Dead ball. See Law 20.4 (Umpire calling and signalling Dead ball).
- the delivery is a No ball.
© Marylebone Cricket Club 2017